Skip to main content
Fight Sports

See also:

Wladimir Klitschko vs Alex Leapai free ESPN live stream boxing fight online time

Wladimir Klitschko poses during the official weigh in at the Atrium shopping centre on October 4, 2013 in Moscow, Russia.
Wladimir Klitschko poses during the official weigh in at the Atrium shopping centre on October 4, 2013 in Moscow, Russia.Photo by Epsilon/Getty Images

According to an April 26, 2014, Daily Mail report, Wladimir Klitschko defends his IBF, WBA and WBO titles against Alex Leapai tonight, and courtesy of ESPN’s family of networks, the boxing fight will be televised and streaming live at 5 p.m. EST (4 p.m. CST/3 p.m. MST/2 p.m. PST). The 38-year-old Ukrainian (61-3-0, 51 KOs) will put his 19-fight win streak on the line, as he faces the 34-year-old Australian (30-4-3, 24 KOs).

König Pilsener Arena in Oberhausen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany, will host Klitschko’s 16th title defense this afternoon. This heavyweight championship bout will be broadcast in the United States on big ESPN and ESPN-Deportes, while Watch-ESPN will handle live stream online duties.

It comes as no surprise that practically no one is giving “Lionheart” a chance against the great “Dr. Steelhammer”. Boxing betting oddsmakers are no exception, as they don’t believe Leapai, whose odds of an upset are calculated at +600, has what it takes to be the fist man in over 10 years to defeat Klitschko [-900].

Nevertheless, Connor Ruebusch, in an April 25, 2014 SBN report, took the time to breakdown the underdog’s strategy to defy the long odds. The amateur boxer points to three key, and quite frankly, basic things Leapai must do in order to have a shot: Use both hips (not just the right), throw lots of counter-punches (off slips) and leg/footwork fundamentals (“bend your knees”).

Will the Australian solve the riddle and succeed where almost 20 straight men have failed miserably? The last man to beat Klitschko is retired (American) boxer Lamon Brewster, as he defeated the 6-foot-6-inch giant via technical knockout on April of 2004.

Leapai, who will be giving up six inches in height but only five inches in reach tonight, is coming off the biggest victory of his career. In fact, it was his victory over previously unbeaten heavyweight champion Denis Boytsov in Germany that earned him a shot at Klitschko.

Fight fans cannot afford to miss what will be a very interesting matchup between one of the greatest heavyweights ever and challenger poised for an upset. Tune to ESPN’s special broadcast of Wladimir Klitschko vs Alex Leapai this evening, or simply click on the link provided above to watch it via live stream on a desktop and other Internet mobile devices.