Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

WIVK's Jack Ryan wins 2009 CMA Personality of the Year Award

Jack Ryan, the night time on-air radio personality on WIVK 107.7 FM in Knoxville, TN, has been named the 2009 Country Music Association's Medium Market Broadcast Personality of the Year.

The award is given out annually to the radio station personality or team who best demonstrates on-air excellence, passion for the country music format, ratings success, entertainment value, and community contributions.  Ryan and his WIVK @ NITE radio program was nominated for this award every year since 2005.  His fifth consecutive nomination was the charm as he claimed his first victory.

The CMA Broadcast Awards are among the most prestigious awards given out in the field of Country Radio. The judging process involves more than 40 distinguished broadcasting professionals, who represent all market sizes and regions of the U.S.

There are two rounds of judging for Radio Station of the Year, Broadcast Personality of the Year and National Broadcast Personality of the Year. The first round determines the finalists. The second round determines the winners in each category.

The international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP® tabulate the scores for both rounds of judging.

Finalists from all categories receive certificates of recognition. Winners receive their trophies during pre-telecast ceremonies for "The 43rd Annual CMA Awards" and will be recognized during the live broadcast November 11, 2009 on the ABC Television Network.

Winners in the Broadcast Personality categories (all team members of winning entry) also receive a complimentary CMA individual lifetime membership.

WIVK has been nominated for the CMA Medium Market Station of the Year award seven times over the past decade. The station has won six of those seven times.  WIVK has been named Medium Market radio station of the year in 2008, 2006, 2004, 2001, 2000, 1999, and 1987.

Other WIVK personalities have also been named CMA personality of the year previously. Morning hosts Andy & Allison have won the award multiple times since joining the station in 1998. They've been nominated six times and they've won the award three times.
Midday host Colleen Addair was nominated four consecutive times from 2000-2003. Afternoon drive host Gunner has been nominated twice since 2004. 

Additionally, former WIVK on-air personalities Claude Tomlinson (in 1988) and the morning team of Darren Wilhite & Tim Wall (in 1992), as well as WIVK Program Director Mike Hammond have also been recipients of CMA trophies in the past.

See a full list of all previous CMA Medium Market Personality of the Year winners on the CMA Website.

For more information:
Jack Ryan on Facebook
WIVK Website
Country Music Association Website 

Watch Jack Ryan do "the worm" dance on stage with Trailer Choir at the Cotton-Eyed Joe:



Today's top buzz...

  • La Toya Jackson
    La Toya Jackson hits the club in music video for 'Feels Like Love'
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Italy's Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2014 Tour de France
    Today's Buzz
  • Johnny Manziel
    Here's why there is no need for Jonny Manziel to apologize for his offseason partying
    NFL Buzz
  • Guys and Dolls
    Guys and Dolls at the PACE Center: Community theater at it's finest
    15 Photos
  • Cheap Trick
    Cheap Trick brings an explosive set of hits to Phoenix on their U.S. tour
    20 Photos
  • Most Wanted Man
    'A Most Wanted Man' shows Phillip Seymour Hoffman at his best
    14 Photos