Skip to main content

See also:

Wisconsin congressional delegation supports medical marijuana amendment 5-3

US Capitol
US Capitol

Early Thursday morning, the U.S. House of Representatives passed the Rohrabacher-Farr amendment to the Department of Justice's budget by a vote of 219-189. This is the first time in many attempts over the years that the amendment, which would restrict the Department of Justice from using taxpayer funds to interfere in state-sanctioned medical marijuana programs, passed the House.

The House amendment would have to survive a joint conference to pass the Senate before it could go into effect.

The Wisconsin delegation voted 5-3 in favor with Reps. Reid Ribble (R-8) and Tom Petri (R-6) joining Reps Mark Pocan (D-2) Gwen Moore (D-4) and Ron Kind (D-3). Voting against were Reps. F. James Sensenbrenner (R-5), Paul Ryan (R-1) and Sean Duffy (R-7). In a similar 2012 vote, the delegation split 4-4, with Ron Kind voting against the amendment.

Rep. Petri has announced he is not seeking reelection this November.