Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Will Power retains top position in Verizon Indycar Series Driver Points at GPOH

Helio Castroneves took the pole position for Race 2 of the Grand Prix of Houston on Sunday, June 29, 2014.
Helio Castroneves took the pole position for Race 2 of the Grand Prix of Houston on Sunday, June 29, 2014.
Darla Tamulitis-La Vita Loca Photography

After race one on Saturday, June 28, 2014 at the Grand Prix of Houston, the top four places in the Verizon IndyCar Series did not change in the 2014 Driver Points standings.

Will Power, driving for Team Penske, retained his No. 1 ranking, with 386 points.

He has two wins during 2014, with six Top 5 and eight Top 10 finishes.

Helio Castroneves, who is the top qualifier for race two on Sunday, June 29, 2014, stayed at No. 2 in the ranking with 353 points.

During Sunday morning qualifying, Castroneves secured the pole position for Race 2 in Houston with a very quick lap of 59.1702 seconds.

The Sao Paulo, Brazil native also drives for Team Penske and has posted one win in 2014.

Number three in the rankings is held by Ryan Hunter-Reay, driving for Andretti Autosport, who picked up 34 points, for a total of 336 points, as a result of placing seventh in Saturday’s race.

Simon Pagenaud, driving for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, holds the No. 4 position in the rankings with 295 points.

Moving up from seventh place after the June 7 race at Texas Motor Speedway, Juan Pablo Montoya ranks No. 5 with 273 points.

Rounding out the Top 10 in the 2014 Driver Points is rookie Carlos Munoz (Andretti AutoSport) with 262 points, Marco Andretti (Andretti AutoSport) with 259 points, Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) with 225 points, James Hinchcliffe (Andretti AutoSport) and Sebastien Bourdais (KVSH Racing) with 212 points.

Early Sunday morning, in a prepared press release from IndyCar, it was stated that Marco Andretti was fined $2,500 and placed on a three-race probation for “failure to heed the blue flag.”

The Grand Prix of Houston will continue on Sunday with Mazda MX-5 Cup at 12 noon CDT, followed by the Pro Mazda race at 1 p.m. CDT.

The Verizon IndyCar Series race will start at 2:50 p.m. CDT with coverage on NBC Sports Network beginning at 2 p.m. CDT.

Report this ad