Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Performing Arts

'Wicked' at the Orpheum Theatre: Back by popular demand

See also

The Broadway play "Wicked" returns to the Orpheum Theatre in Memphis on Wednesday, Jan. 29 and runs through Feb. 16, 2014. This musical is being brought back to the Orpheum because so many that wanted to see it before, didn't get the chance, and some that did, can't get enough.

More Photos

In a statement released by Christina Torres, Press Relations Manager for the Orpheum, the show dates and synopsis is detailed.

'Back by “Popular” demand. Variety calls WICKED "a cultural phenomenon,” and every time it plays in Memphis, it breaks box office records. Winner of over 50 major awards, including a Grammy and three Tony Awards, WICKED is “Broadway’s biggest blockbuster” (The New York Times). Long before that girl from Kansas arrives in Munchkinland, two girls meet in the land of Oz. One - born with emerald green skin - is smart, fiery and misunderstood. The other is beautiful, ambitious and very popular. How these two grow to become the Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good makes for "the most complete - and completely satisfying - new musical in a long time" (USA Today)".'

Dates: January 29 – February 16, 2014

Wednesday, January 29, 2014 7:30 PM
Thursday, January 30, 2014 2:00 PM
Thursday, January 30, 2014 7:30 PM
Friday, January 31, 2014 8:00 PM
Saturday, February 1, 2014 2:00 PM
Saturday, February 1, 2014 8:00 PM
Sunday, February 2, 2014 1:30 PM
Sunday, February 2, 2014 7:00 PM
Tuesday, February 4, 2014 7:30 PM
Wednesday, February 5, 2014 7:30 PM
Thursday, February 6, 2014 7:30 PM
Friday, February 7, 2014 8:00 PM
Saturday, February 8, 2014 2:00 PM
Saturday, February 8, 2014 8:00 PM
Sunday, February 9, 2014 1:30 PM
Sunday, February 9, 2014 7:00 PM
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 7:30 PM
Wednesday, February 12, 2014 7:30 PM
Thursday, February 13, 2014 7:30 PM
Friday, February 14, 2014 8:00 PM
Saturday, February 15, 2014 2:00 PM
Saturday, February 15, 2014 8:00 PM
Sunday, February 16, 2014 1:30 PM
Sunday, February 16, 2014 7:00 PM

Tickets for the show can be purchased by going to the Orpheum Memphis, or at the box office at (901) 525-3000. The tickets range from $43.50 to $153.50.

Please continue to watch for Examiner articles by Gerry Glenn Jones that cover the performing arts in the Memphis metropolitan area, as well as surrounding venues. Click on the subscribe link near the top of this page, and you will be notified by email each time a new article is published. Also, remember they are free. Please share this information with friends and family, and "Let's support the Memphis Metropolitan Performing Arts."

Advertisement

Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Video
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    Camera
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    Camera
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    Camera
    5 Photos