Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Where they stand: Nationwide Series points after Road America

See also

The top of the NASCAR Nationwide Series points standings remained unchanged by Brendan Gaughan's win on Saturday at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis. Regan Smith remains the leader after 14 races, with Elliott Sadler in second, 10 points behind Smith. Smith's JR Motorsports teammate Chase Elliott also maintains in third.

The top-six drivers in the standings have pulled away from the rest of the pack, with the top-six drivers separated by 63 points. Meanwhile, there's a 43-point gap between Trevor Bayne in sixth and seventh-place driver Gaughan, the race winner at Road America. Within that top-six, the top-three have pulled away, somewhat, from the others, with Elliott leading the driver directly behind him, Ty Dillon, by 30 points. The top-three drivers are separated by only 11 points.

Things couldn't be closer near the bottom of the top-10, though, and it's all in the family, as there's a two-way tie for eighth between cousins Chris Buescher and James Buescher.

Here's a look at the Nationwide Series championship points standings, 14 races into the 33-race season:

1. Regan Smith, leader
2. Elliott Sadler, -10
3. Chase Elliott, -11
4. Ty Dillon, -41
5. Brian Scott, -58
6. Trevor Bayne, -63
7. Brendan Gaughan, -106
8. Chris Buescher, -128
8. James Buescher, -128
10. Landon Cassill, -148

With the Nationwide Series racing in Wisconsin and the Sprint Cup Series in California over the weekend, Sprint Cup regulars didn't show up in large numbers for Saturday's Nationwide race at Road America. Nationwide owner points leader, the No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota team, turned to Sam Hornish Jr. to climb into its car, while the No. 22 Team Penske Ford team enlisted the driving help of road course specialist Alex Tagliani. Neither won the race, but the No. 54 team maintained its large lead atop the owner standings, while the No. 22 remained comfortably in second.

As in previous weeks, the highest team with a full-time Nationwide Series regular in its car is the No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet with Regan Smith as its driver. The No. 7 team is fourth in the owner standings, but it's knocking of the third-place door, just one point behind the No. 42 Turner Scott Motorsports team that had Dylan Kwasniewski in its car that is usually driven by Sprint Cup regular Kyle Larson.

Here's a look at the owner standings:

1. No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, leader
2. No. 22 Team Penske Ford, -50
3. No. 42 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet, -82
4. No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet -83
5. No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, -93
6. No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet, -94
7. No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, -105
8. No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet, -124
9. No. 2 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet, -141
10. No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford, -146



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Brees gets tested
    Saints Drew Brees says he has 10 years left in NFL, immediately gets drug tested
    NFL News
  • Bryan subdues burglar
    Former WWE champ Daniel Bryan holds down burglar with submission move
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court