Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Where they stand: Nationwide Series points after Kentucky

See also

The NASCAR Nationwide Series championship points lead changed hands Friday night after the John R. Elliott HERO Campaign 300 at Kentucky Speedway near Sparta, the 15th race of the 2014 season. With a 10th-place finish in the race, Elliott Sadler assumed the points lead from former points leader Regan Smith. Smith was credited with a 28th-place race finish as a result of getting caught up in an on-track incident on lap 169. He dropped to third in the standings. With his move into the points lead, Sadler becomes the first non-JR Motorsports driver to sit atop the standings, to this point in the 2014 season.

"We've got a long ways to go," Sader said, referring the number of races still remaining. "We're only halfway there."

Smith's teammate, Chase Elliott, who also led the points standings earlier this season, moved from third to second in the standings with a 12th-place finish at Kentucky. He now finds himself only four points behind new leader, Sadler. Smith margin from the lead is eight points.

Here's a look at the Nationwide Series driver points standings after Friday night's race at Kentucky:

1. Elliott Sadler, leader
2. Chase Elliott, -4
3. Regan Smith, -8
4. Ty Dillon, -29
5. Brian Scott, -47
6. Trevor Bayne, -59
7. Brendan Gaughan, -93
8. James Buescher, -123
9. Chris Buescher, -127
10. Landon Cassill, -142

With a third-place finish in Friday's race at Kentucky, Kyle Busch, for the most part, maintained the large lead the No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota holds over the second-place No. 22 Team Penske Ford in the Nationwide Series owner points standings. Brad Keselowski was the driver of the No. 22 at Kentucky Speedway, and with a second-place finish after leading a race-high 138 laps, Keselowski did gain a few points on the No. 54 team. Fifteen races into the season, the No. 22 now trails the No. 54 by 48 points.

Here's a look at the Nationwide Series owner points standings:

1. No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, leader
2. No. 22 Team Penske Ford, -48
3. No. 42 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet, -89
4. No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, -100
5. No. 9 JR Motosports Chevrolet, -104
6. No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet, -108
7. No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet, -129
8. No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, -139
9. No. 2 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet, -147
10. No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford, -159



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Hottest WNBA players
    Dig in to this WNBA slideshow and see what has Drake so hot and bothered
    20 Photos
  • Feeling groovy: The truth about Adam Wainwright and the grooved Derek Jeter pitch
    MLB News
  • Rory's dad cashes in
    Rory McIlroy's dad Gerry cashes in on $342,000 bet on son's British Open win
  • Bob Burnquist interview
    Examiner exclusive: Skateboarding legend Bob Burnquist talks Dew Tour and Toyota
  • 40-year-old cheerleader
    40-year-old mom Kriste Lewis becomes New Orleans Saints cheerleader
    NFL News