Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Where they stand: Nationwide Series points after Indianapolis

See also

With his win Saturday in the Lilly Diabetes 250 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Ty Dillon remained fourth in the championship points standings, but he closed in on the leader, now sitting 15 points behind Chase Elliott, who held on to the lead. But Dillon did pull away, somewhat, from fifth-place driver, Brian Scott, who is 42 points out of first.

As mentioned, Elliott remained the points leader. His JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith is in second, just four points back. Elliott Sadler still holds down the third spot, 11 points out of first. The top-four are the only drivers within 20 points of the top run of the standings, with Scott a distant fifth.

Here's a look at the driver points standings after Indianapolis:

1. Chase Elliott, leader
2. Regan Smith, -4
3. Elliott Sadler, -11
4. Ty Dillon, -15
5. Brian Scott, -42
6. Trevor Bayne, -47
7. Chris Buescher, -122
8. Brendan Gaughan, -127
9. James Buescher, -163
10. Ryan Reed, -169

Kyle Busch finished second from behind the wheel of the No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota at Indianapolis, maintaining the No. 54 team's spot atop the Nationwide Series owner points standings. He even grew the cushion slightly over the No. 22 Team Penske Ford. Joey Logano drove the No. 22 to a fifth-place finish on Saturday. Now, the No. 22 team trails the No. 54 by eight points in the owner standings. The top-two have distanced themselves from the rest of the competition.

The No. 42 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet team remains a distant third in owner points. Following the Indianapolis race, the No. 42 is more than a race's worth of points behind the leader, sitting some 52 points back.

Meanwhile, the No. 9 JR Motorsports team of driver championship points leader Elliott is fourth in the owner points, nearly two races back, points-wise, with an 85-point deficit.

Here's a look at the Nationwide Series owner points standings:

1. No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, leader
2. No. 22 Team Penske Ford, -8
3. No. 42 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet, -52
4. No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet, -85
5. No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet, -89
6. No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, -96
7. No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet, -100
8. No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, -103
9. No. 2 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet, -127
10. No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford, -132