Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Where they stand: Nationwide Series points after Darlington

See also

With his second consecutive NASCAR Nationwide Series win Friday night at Darlington (S.C.) Raceway, Chase Elliott took over the Nationwide Series championship points lead by a 13-point margin over JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith, the only other NNS championship-eligible driver two win a race in the first seven races of the 2014 season.

Elliott Sadler is third in points, 20 points behind leader Elliott. Like Elliott, Sadler has three top-five finishes in the first seven races. They are the only two drivers with multiple top-five finishes, so far, this year. The only other drivers with top-five finishes in the first five races are Smith and Trevor Bayne, who is fifth in the standings. Ty Dillon is fourth. Here is the top-10 in the Nationwide Series driver points standings:

1. Chase Ellliott, leader
2. Regan Smith, -13
3. Elliott Sadler, -20
4. Ty Dillon, -23
5. Trevor Bayne, -30
6. Brian Scott, -46
7. Brendan Gaughan, -56.
8. Dylan Kwasniewski, -71
9. James Buescher, -76

The No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota team leads the way in the Nationwide Series owner points standings, with Kyle Busch being the primary driver of the car in the first seven races of 2014. Meanwhile, the No. 22 Team Penske Ford team is second in the owner standings, 17 points behind the No. 54 team, with drivers including Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano and Ryan Blaney sharing driving duties of the No. 22. The No. 42 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet team is third in points, 19 points out of the lead, with Kyle Larson as its full-time driver.

The highest-ranked team with a Nationwide championship-eligible driver behind the wheel of its car on a full-time basis is the No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet team with Chase Elliott as driver. That team is fifth in owner points, 36 points behind the leading No. 54 team. Just ahead of that team in fourth is the JR Motorsports No. 5/88 Chevrolet team that has had owner Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kevin Harvick in the car. The No. 88-turned No. 5 dteam is 26 points out of first.

Here is a complete look at the top-10 in the Nationwide Series owner points standings:

1. No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, leader
2. No. 22 Team Penske Ford, -17
3. No. 42 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet, -19
4. No. 5 JR Motorsports Chevrolet, -26
5. No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet, -36
6. No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, -41
7. No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet, -49
8. No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, -56
9. No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet, -59
10. No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing Chevrolet, -66