Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Where they stand: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points after Texas

See also

Matt Crafton claimed his second win of the 2014 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season Friday night with his victory at Texas Motor Speedway near Fort Worth. It marked the first multi-win season of Crafton's long Truck Series career. He remains the only series championship-eligible driver to pull into victory lane this year, as all other races have been won by Sprint Cup driver Kyle Busch. Also, Crafton reassumed the championship points lead, leading by 11 points over ThorSport Racing teammate Johnny Sauter.

Timothy Peters had taken the points lead from Crafton the previous weekend at Dover (Del.) International Speedway. Heading into the Texas race, Peters had a one-point lead over the ThorSport teammates of Crafton and Sauter, who were tied for second. Peters encountered trouble in the Texas race, though, at one point spinning in fluids laid down by the truck of Red Horse Racing teammate German Quiroga and at another point in the race, suffering a tire issue. As a result, Peters dropped from the points lead to fifth in the standings. In additions to Crafton and Sauter, Ron Hornaday and Ryan Blaney also jumped ahead of Peters in the points standings.

Here's a look at the championship points standings after six races:

1. Matt Crafton, leader
2. Johnny Sauter, -11
3. Ron Hornaday, -23
4. Ryan Blaney, -25
5. Timothy Peters, -27
6. German Quiroga, -32
7. Ben Kennedy, -33
8. John Wes Townley, -34
9. Jeb Burton, -47
10. Joey Coulter, -55

With Kyle Busch winning for of the six races, so far, this season, from behind the wheel of the No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota, the No. 51 leads the way in the Camping World Truck Series owner points standings with an 18 point lead over the No. 88 ThorSport Racing Toyota driven by series regular and driver points leader Crafton.
Aside from Busch's No. 51, the other two trucks not driven full-time by a single series regular that's in the top-10 of the owner points standings are the No. 8 SWM-Nemco Motorsports Toyota shared by father/son duo Joe and John Hunter Nemechek, 33 points out of first in fourth spot, and the No. 19 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford that has been driven by Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano and Tyler Reddick. The No. 19 is eighth in the Truck Series owner standings, 48 points out of first.

Here's a look at the top-10 in the Camping World Truck Series owner points standings:

1. No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota, leader
2. No. 88 ThorSport Racing Toyota, -18
3. No. 98 ThorSport Racing Toyota, -29
4. No. 8 SWM-NEMCO Motorsports Toyota, -33
5. No. 30 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet, -41
6. No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford, -43
7. No. 17 Red Horse Racing Toyota, -45
8. No. 19 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford, -48
9. No. 77 Red Horse Racing Toyota, -50
10. No. 31 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet, -51