Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Where they stand: Camping World Truck Series points after Kentucky

Johnny Sauter
Johnny Sauter
Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

While Kyle Busch dominated the UNOH 225 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta on Thursday night, the top-five drivers in the Truck Series championship driver points standings finished in the top-10, with leader Johnny Sauter finishing ninth, Matt Crafton sixth, Timothy Peters fourth, Ryan Blaney third, and Ron Hornaday eighth.

With his top-10 finish, Sauter maintained his points lead, and after Kentucky, leads ThorSport Racing teammate Matt Crafton by eight points. Peters is just three more points back in third. The points battle is extremely close between third and fifth, with each position separated by only a point. Blaney is in fourth, a point behind Peters, while Hornaday is just a point behind Blaney.

Darrell Wallace Jr., who finished the race second, was, as a result, the highest-finishing championship eligible driver. After eight races, Wallace is eighth in the standings, 36 points behind leader Sauter.

Here's a look at the top-10 of the driver points standings after eight races:

1. Johnny Sauter, leader
2. Matt Crafton, -8
3. Timothy Peters, -11
4. Ryan Blaney, -12
5. Ron Hornaday Jr., -13
6. German Quiroga, -25
7. Ben Kennedy, -34
8. Darrell Wallace Jr., -36
9. John Wess Townley, -40
10. Joey Coulter, -55

With his dominant win at Kentucky owner/driver Kyle Busch extended the owner point lead for his No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota. Busch has been in the truck for five of the eight races and won all five of those events. As a result, he now carries a 23-point lead in the owner standings. The No. 98 ThorSport Racing Toyota driven by Johnny Sauter is second to the No. 51, 23 points back.

The No. 88 ThorSport Toyota (Matt Crafton), the No. 17 Red Horse Racing Toyota (Timothy Peters), the No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford (Ryan Blaney) and the No. 30 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet (Ron Hornaday) are third through sixth in the points standings with, like the No. 98, a series championship-eligible driver in their trucks full-time. As a result, second through sixth in the owner standings mirror first through fifth in the driver standings.

Here's a look at the owner points standings:

1. No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota, leader
2. No. 98 ThorSport Racing Toyota, -23
3. No. 88 ThorSport Racing Toyota, -31
4. No. 17 Red Horse Racing Toyota, -34
5. No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford, -35
6. No. 30 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet, -36
7. No. 8 SWM-NEMCO Motorsports Toyota, -43
8. No. 19 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford, -46
9. No. 77 Red Horse Racing Toyota, -48
10. No. 31 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet, -57

Report this ad