In a series of articles scheduled to be sent to Utah lawmakers as a part of UtahCARE (Cannabis Awareness, Respect and Education)’s kickoff for their 2014 campaign to “Educate in order to Medicate”, the medicinal cannabis program slated for Utah’s 2014 Legislative session, this is the fifth to exam “legalized” states and the laws that were passed which enabled the legal use of medical marijuana.
Connecticut's law, which was signed into law by Governor Dannel P. Melloy (D) on May 31, 2012 after House Bill 5389 was approved by the Connecticut House of Representatives 96-51 and by the State Senate 21-13.
Some sections were effective May 4, 2012 while other sections on Oct. 1, 2012.
In part, the law states:
"A qualifying patient shall register with the Department of Consumer Protection... prior to engaging in the palliative use of marijuana. A qualifying patient who has a valid registration certificate... shall not be subject to arrest or prosecution, penalized in any manner,... or denied any right or privilege."
According to their website, the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, patients must be Connecticut residents at least 18 years of age.
"Prison inmates, or others under the supervision of the Department of Corrections, would not qualify, regardless of their medical condition."
Conditions meeting approval for treatment with medicinal cannabis include cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome [HIV/AIDS], Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity, epilepsy, cachexia, wasting syndrome, Crohn's disease, post-traumatic stress disorder, or
“any medical condition, medical treatment or disease approved by the Department of Consumer Protection..."
Qualifying patients may possess "an amount of usable marijuana reasonably necessary to ensure uninterrupted availability for a period of one month, as determined by the Department of Consumer Protection."
The Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program website posted an update on September 23, 2012 with instructions on how to register for the program starting on Oct. 1, 2012, which can be accessed by clicking this link.
"Patients who are currently receiving medical treatment for a debilitating medical conditions set out in the law may qualify for a temporary registration certificate beginning October 1, 2012. To qualify, a patient must also be at least 18 years of age and a Connecticut resident."
Draft Regulations on Medical Marijuana were subsequently posted on January 16, 2013 and can be accessed by clicking this link.
It is through education Utah lawmakers with articles such as this that groups such as UtahCARE (Cannabis Awareness, Respect and Education) will continue to propel the movement legalize medicinal cannabis throughout Utah.
If you enjoyed this article and would like to have similar articles delivered directly to your in-box, simply click subscribe.