Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

'Welcome Back Kotter's' Sweathogs to be honored at TV Land Awards

TV Land will honor the 'Sweathogs' of Brooklyn as they salute the beloved sitcom "Welcome Back Kotter" with the 35th Anniversary Award at this year’s "TV Land Awards" [2011] taping in New York City at the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, Sunday, April 10 and airing on TV Land Sunday, April 17, 2011 at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

John Travolta will reunite with co-stars Lawrence Hilton-Jacobs, Ron Palillo and Marcia Strassman, with more cast members to be announced, to accept the 35th Anniversary Award for "Welcome Back Kotter," which ran from 1975-1979.

The show was created by Gabe Kaplan and Alan Sacks and starred Gabe Kaplan, Marcia Strassman, John Sylvester White, Robert Hegyes, Lawrence-Hilton Jacobs, Ron Palillo, John Travolta. The theme song "Welcome Back" was performed by John Sebastian.

"Welcome Back, Kotter" ran for five seasons and revolved around an inner-city high school teacher, Mr. Kotter (Gabe Kaplan) who returns to his alma mater to teach a new generation of under-achieving misfits nicknamed the "Sweathogs." As a former "Sweathog" himself, Kotter uses his own life experiences to try and get through to this misunderstood group led by wisecracking Vinnie Barbarino (Travolta). The talented cast is rounded out by Lawrence Hilton-Jacobs as Freddie "Boom Boom" Washington, Ron Palillo as Arnold Horshack, Robert Hegyes as Juan Epstein and Marcia Strassman as Mr. Kotter's wife, Julie.

Now in its ninth year, the TV Land Awards pays tribute to classic and contemporary luminaries of television, music and movies. The ninety-minute telecast will feature exhilarating musical performances and will reunite some of the most iconic celebrity TV casts. Previously announced honorees include Regis Philbin (Legend Award), "Family Ties" (Fan Favorite Award) and "The Cosby Show" (Impact Award).

Michael Levitt ("Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D List," "Ask Oprah's All Stars," "Scream Awards") is executive producer; Glen Weiss is director (The 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards," "BET Awards," "The 64th Annual Tony Awards"); Greg Sills is supervising producer ("VH1 Rock Honors," "The Teen Choice Awards," "Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards") and TV Land's Larry W. Jones and Casey Patterson are executive producers.


TV Land Awards

Report this ad