Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Weekend wrap-up: Tough go for drivers on Indy road course

Simon Pagenaud got the fuel mileage needed to win the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis
Simon Pagenaud got the fuel mileage needed to win the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis
IndyCar Media: Chris Owens

The inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course kicked off with a bang – and a lot of scattered car parts. At Kansas, another driver put his name in the hat for the Chase for the Sprint Cup, and a wreck-filled Camping World Truck Series race ended with a familiar face in victory lane.

Verizon IndyCar Series – pole sitter Sebastian Saavedra had mechanical issues as the Grand Prix of Indianapolis went green from a standing start, leaving him a sitting duck as rookies Carlos Munoz and Mikhail Aleshin came through the field and hit him at the starting line, leading to the first caution of the day. Simon Pagenaud conserved enough fuel at the end of the race to take the checkered flag, followed by Ryan Hunter-Reay and birthday boy Helio Castroneves. Sebastien Bourdais finished fourth, followed by Charlie Kimball in fifth. James Hinchcliffe, who was involved in a separate incident during the race, was diagnosed with a concussion and will be reevaluated later this week; EJ Viso is on stand-by for Andretti Autosport if Hinchcliffe is unable to drive.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series – Jeff Gordon became the latest driver to punch his ticket – hopefully – to the Chase for the Sprint Cup with his win at Kansas Saturday night in the 5-Hour Energy 400. With 15 races to go before the Chase, there are nine winners already – only 16 drivers will make the Chase. Kevin Harvick, who led a race-high 119 laps, finished second, followed by Kasey Kahne, Joey Logano and Dale Earnhardt Jr. Carl Edwards, Danica Patrick, Aric Almirola, Jimmie Johnson and Matt Kenseth rounded out the top 10.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series – Kyle Busch went to victory lane Friday night in the Camping World Truck Series SFP 250 after leading eight times for a race-high 104 laps. Points leader Matt Crafton finished second, followed by Logano in third, Austin Dillon in fourth and Tayler Malsam in fifth. Jeb Burton, German Quiorga, Ron Hornaday Jr., Joe Nemechek and Mason Mingus rounded out the top 10.

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad