Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Washington Blues Society 2014 Best of the Blues Awards Winners Announced

See also

Washington Blues Society 2014 Best of the Blues Awards
(“BB Awards”) Winners Announced

More Photos

The Washington Blues Society’s annual Best of the Blues Awards (“BB Awards”) was held at the Kirkland Performance Center on Sunday, June 29th to honor musicians and artists nominated by blues society members in 29 award categories.

Brian Lee and the Orbiters received awards in the Best Blues Act and the Little Bill and the Blue Notes Traditional Blues Act categories, and guitarist Mark Riley was honored for Slide Blues Guitar and Lifetime Achievement. Riley joins a select group of musicians in the Washington Blues Society Hall of Fame, and Alice Stuart and the Formerlys is the second band inducted in the Hall of Fame. Bandleader CD Woodbury received Blues Songwriter and Electric Blues Guitar awards, and the CD Woodbury Band received the BB Award for Washington Blues Recording (“Monday Night”) and band-mate Mike Marinig won for Best Blues Horn. The Stacy Jones Band was honored in the Chris Leighton Blues Drummer (Rick Bowen) and Blues Female Vocalist (Stacy Jones) categories. Bowen also picked up his second plaque as Best Blues Writer.

“The BB Awards is a signature event of the Washington Blues Society and we are pleased to have returned to the Kirkland Performance Center,” said Washington Blues Society President Tony Frederickson. “It was an outstanding night of music that honored the past, the present and the future of blues music in the Pacific Northwest. Music Director Cherie Robbins and the rest of the Board of Directors worked hard to put on a memorable show for our members and the musicians honored at this year’s BB Awards. The evening featured many nominees performing live and our after-party at Hector’s in downtown Kirkland with our Best New Blues Band nominees was amazing!”

2014 Washington Blues Society Best of the Blues
(“BB Awards”) Winners

Mark DuFresne Blues Male Vocalist - Sammy Eubanks
Blues Female Vocalist - Stacy Jones
Electric Blues Guitar - CD Woodbury
Slide Blues Guitar - Mark Riley
Blues Bass - Polly O'Keary
Chris Leighton Blues Drummer - Rick J Bowen
Blues Horn - Mike Marinig
Paul Green Blues Harmonica - Jim McLaughlin
Blues Piano/Keyboards - Arthur Migliazza
Acoustic Blues Guitar - Rod Cook
Blues Act - Brian Lee & the Orbiters
Little Bill & the Blue Notes
Traditional Blues Act - Brian Lee & the Orbiters
Solo/Duo Blues Act - Son Jack, Jr. & Michael Wilde
New Blues Band - Jesse James & the Mob
Blues Performer - James King
Blues Songwriter - CD Woodbury
Blues Recording - "Monday Night" by the CD Woodbury Band
Blues Club - Highway 99 Blues Club
Blues Writer - Rick Bowen
Blues Image - Patti Allen Bluesletter Cover (Photo by Tom Hunnewell)
Blues Graphic Artist - Dennis Hacker
Blues DJ - Jonathan "Oogie" Richards /Mighty Mouth Blues on NWCZ
Keeping the Blues Alive - Paul Quilty & Willow Stone
Lifetime Achievement Award - Mark Riley
Hall of Fame - Mark Riley
Hall of Fame Band - Alice Stuart & the Formerlys
Non Festival Blues Event - Washington Blues Society Blues Bash at the Red Crane (Shoreline, WA)
Blues Festival - Sunbanks Blues Festival
Open Blues Jam - The Madison Pub
Blue to the Bone Award - Don Polson
Blue to the Bone Award - Robert Horn

Rick j Bowen