Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Wake trio earns postgraduate scholarships

Wake's Casey Luckhurst in action during a game against Maryland
Wake's Casey Luckhurst in action during a game against Maryland
File photo

Three Wake Forest student-athletes were given some good news this past Friday when the Atlantic Coast Conference awarded them with postgraduate scholarships.

Iain Atkinson (men's tennis), Casey Luckhurst (women's soccer) and Kristen White (volleyball) were awarded the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award, while Atkinson was one of three student-athletes in the conference to receive the Thacker Award.

Atkinson has won 88 total matches as a member of the men's tennis team and has been ranked as high as No. 12 nationally in doubles and No. 41 in singles. The Washington, England native is serving as co-captain of the Wake Forest men's tennis team in his senior season. Luckhurst played in 74 games for the women's soccer team, including every game of her senior season, totaling six goals and 13 points. In 2009 she made the TopDrawerSoccer National Team of the Week after scoring three goals in the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament.

White, a native of Harrison, Ohio, was a four-year starter for the Wake Forest volleyball team. She was named Team MVP by her coaches and teammates as a junior in 2009 and finished her career ranked in the Top 10 in several categories.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes - three from each league institution - who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to contribute to their graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and his/her respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

The Thacker Award, which originated in 2005, is awarded in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C. Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC's first television network. Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through postgraduate studies at an ACC institution.


Report this ad