Skip to main content

VSA arts of Minnesota Announces 2009 Arts Access Awards

It's time again for VSA arts of Minnesota to present its Arts Access Awards, also known as the 'Jaehnys'. These annual, statewide awards recognize outstanding accomplishments by artists, arts organizations, advocates and educators that help create a community where people with disabilities can learn through, participate in and access the arts. A reception for the award winners is set for:

Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2009

6-7:30 p.m. (short program at 6:15 [p.m.)

Vision Loss Resources

1936 Lyndale Ave. S., Minneapolis

This year's Jaehny Awards were created by Nancy Ann Miller of Eveleth. The evening also includes an exhibit of fiber art by Lisa Dietz, Minneapolis.  Free parking. ASL interpreter provided as well as audio description of art exhibit. This is a fragrance-free event.

The 2009 art access award recipients are:

Nicole Zapko, Bloomington

Most Active and Visible Minnesota Artist with Disabilities

Anne Krocak, Prior Lake

Outstanding Artist Educator of Students and Adults with Disabilities

Caryl Barnett, St. Paul

Outstanding Individual Actively Promoting Access to the Arts for People with Disabilities

WACOSA, Waite Park

Outstanding Organization Actively Supporting Access to the Arts for People with Disabilities

The Voters of Minnesota

for having the vision to pass the Clean Water, Land & Legacy Amendment, which will result in improved access to the arts for all people, including people with disabilities.

For more information, call 612-332-3888, 1-800-801-3883, both voice/TTY; e-mail