Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Vote for your favorite drivers for the Traxxas Nitro Shootouts

Brittany Force is one of six drivers eligible for the eighth spot in the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Top Fuel
NHRA Media

Fans can vote for the driver to fill the remaining spots open in each of the NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout fields for Top Fuel and Funny Car. Fans’ votes are then entered into a pair of lottery-style drawings.

Six drivers in both categories are eligible for the fan-vote/lottery positions in each class. Fan voting on the NHRA Facebook page is open and will remain open until noon ET on Tuesday, August 26th.

The fan-voting process will determine the number of lottery balls that each eligible driver will be assigned during the Traxxas Shootout lottery drawings. The Traxxas Shootout lottery drawings will be conducted during a press conference for the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals on Wednesday, August 27th at Monument Circle in downtown Indianapolis. The Traxxas Nitro Shootout is scheduled to take place during the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, August 27th through September 1st , at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

The winners of the fan vote and lottery-style drawings will meet the Traxxas Nitro Shootout top seeds in the opening rounds of the special event.

The six Top Fuel drivers who are eligible for the eighth position in the fan vote/lottery are Brittany Force, Terry McMillen, Clay Millican, J.R. Todd, Steve Torrence, and Bob Vandergriff Jr.

The six Funny Car drivers who are eligible are Jack Beckman, Matt Hagan, Tony Pedregon, Bob Tasca III, Tim Wilkerson, and Del Worsham.

The Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Top Fuel will be conducted Saturday, August 30th, with rounds at 4, 5:25, and 7:45 p.m. ET. The Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Funny Car will be held Sunday, August 31st, with rounds at 12:30, 1:55, and 4:15 p.m. ET.


No. 1. Doug Kalitta vs. No. 8 fan vote/lottery

No. 2. Antron Brown vs. No. 7 Richie Crampton

No. 3. Shawn Langdon vs. No. 6 Khalid alBalooshi

No. 4. Tony Schumacher vs. No. 5 Spencer Massey

Starting positions for Funny Car will be set when points standings become official following completion of the rain-delayed Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals at Indianapolis on Saturday, August 30th. The following drivers in alphabetical order have earned a starting spot in the Traxxas Nitro Shootout in Funny Car: Ron Capps, Alexis DeJoria, Courtney Force, John Force, Robert Hight, Tommy Johnson Jr., and Cruz Pedregon.

Keep up with the action leading up to the U.S. Nationals and the Countdown to the Championship at

Information in this piece provided by the NHRA.

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad