Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Video: Haley Reinhart talks "American Idol' and Stevie Nicks at BMI Pop Awards

BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc) honored Stevie Nicks with the BMI Icon Award at its 62nd Annual BMI Pop Awards, on Tuesday, May 13, at in Beverly Hills. The invitation-only ceremony recognized the songwriters and publishers of the past year’s most-performed pop songs in the United States.The 62nd Annual BMI Pop Awards was hosted by BMI President Del Bryant and BMI Vice President & General Manager, Writer/Publisher Relations, Los Angeles, Barbara Cane.

Haley Reinhart at the BMI Pop Awards 2014 on May 13, 2014.
Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images
Haley Reinhart at the 2014 BMI Pop Awards
Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

Previous BMI Icon award honorees include Paul Simon, Carole King, David Foster, John Fogerty, Kris Kristofferson, the Jacksons, Crosby, Stills & Nash, the Bee Gees, Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard to name a few.

Nicks is the one of the most sucessful female artists in pop rock history. She has been awarded with 12 BMI Pop Awards, a BMI Urban Award and a BMI Country Award for such hits as "Dreams," "Rhiannon," "Leather and Lace," "Landslide" and "Gypsy," among others songs for the legendary group Fleetwood Mac. Nicks has also hits songs as a solo artist which includes songs such as "Edge of Seventeen" and "Stand Back".

As a member of the legendary Fleetwood Mac, their album "Rumours" was one of the biggest selling records of all time. Nicks' four-decade career includes induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, multiple GRAMMY awards and numerous gold and platinum records.

The star-studded musical tribute to Nicks featured Maroon 5 frontman Adam Levine, Sheryl Crow, Lady Antebellum, Vanessa Carlton and Shakira. Levine and Crow performed of “Leather & Lace,” Lady Antebellum performed “Rhiannon,” Carlton performed "Dreams” and Shakira ended the musical tribute with “Landslide.”

Winners included The Lumineers who were honored with the Pop Song of the Year for co-writing the song “Ho Hey.

Other winners included Adam Levine, Ryan Lewis, Jeff Bhasker and Ben Haggerty who all earned the BMI Pop Songwriter of the Year title. Each penned three songs on the most-performed list. Levine composed Maroon 5’s “Daylight,” “Love Somebody” and “One More Night.”

Lewis and Haggerty co-wrote Macklemore & Ryan Lewis’ “Can't Hold Us,” “Same Love” and “Thrift Shop.”

Bhasker co-penned Fun.’s “Carry On” and “Some Nights,” and P!nk’s “Just Give Me A Reason.”

I spoke with Season 10 "American Idol" Top 3 finalists and BMI songwriter Haley Reinhart before the award on the red carpet.

Click on the video link to hear what Haley had to say about her current music plans, this years "American Idol" season, Stevie Nicks and more. Please note that at the time of this interview, Haley was not attending the American Idol finale due to her video shoot, but the video shoot date has changed to the 27th.

Check back to this page for more interviews and reports from the awards.

To view the interview with Stevie Nicks from the BMI Pop Music Awards:

Report this ad