Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Green
  3. Green Living

Vanderburgh County recycling schedule for 2014

See also

The Vanderburgh County Solid Waste Management District has scheduled recycling and special waste disposal days for the year 2014. This service is limited to Vanderburgh County, Ind., households unless otherwise noted.

Drop-off recyclingHousehold waste that will be accepted for drop-off recycling include: newspaper, cardboard, mixed paper, catalogs, magazines, metal food cans, aluminum cans, glass containers, and plastic containers of types #1 - #7 (no Styrofoam or plastic bags). All items must be cleaned and sorted. Recycling times are from 8:00 a.m. to noon at the following locations:

  • 4-H Center: Jan. 4, Feb. 8, March 15, May 17, June 28, Sept. 13, Oct. 18 and Nov. 8.
  • Old Wal-Mart West: Jan. 11, Feb. 1, March 8, Apr. 5, May 3, June 7, July 12, Aug. 9, Sept. 6, Oct. 4, Nov. 1 and Dec. 6.
  • Evansville Day School: March 22 and Sept. 27.
  • North High School: July 26.

Electronics recycling - Electronics that are accepted for recycling include: computer equipment, televisions, DVD players, DVR/TiVo devices, digital cameras, and fax machines. Copy machines, microwaves, and other appliances are excluded. Electronics may be recycled at the Civic Center from 8:00 a.m. to noon on May 10 and Sept. 20.

Paper-shredding – Personal papers may be brought to Wesselman Park for shredding and recycling from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. on the following dates: April 11, July 18 and Nov. 7.

Tire Recycling – Residents may bring up to four car or light-truck tires to be recycled at no charge. There is a fee of $1 per tire for additional tires. Semi-truck tires are accepted at $10 per tire, and tractor tires are accepted at $25 per tire. Tires may be recycled at the Civic Center from 8:00 a.m. to noon on April 26.

Tox-Away Day - (Posey County residents may also participate.) Residents may bring household hazardous wastes for disposal on Tox-Away Day, which include: motor oil and filters, automotive batteries, gasoline, household batteries, mercury thermometers, oil-based paint, pesticides, and fluorescent bulbs, but NOT smoke detectors, latex paint, or tires. These dates have yet to be determined for 2014.

Dates and times are subject to change. For more information, see the Vanderburgh County Solid Waste Management District website or contact the District at 1 NW Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd, Room 327, Evansville, IN 47708. Phone: (812) 436-7800.

Other articles that may interest you by this writer:

Tags: recycling, Household Waste, hazardous waste collection, Tire Recycling



  • Dead babies found
    Seven dead babies were found in Utah resident Megan Huntsman's old home
    Shocking Discovery
  • Kendall Jenner
    Get the Coachella looks: Kendall Jenner’s nose ring, green hair and edgy nails
    Coachella Look
  • Dog's Easter basket
    How to fill your dog’s Easter basket with the perfect toys
    Easter Basket
  • Rabbit owners
    Bringing home the bunny: Important information for rabbit owners
    7 Photos
  • Haunted island
    The world’s most haunted island may soon be the most haunted luxury resort
    Haunted Resort
  • Sunken ferry
    Search continues for missing passengers after a ferry sinks off the South Korean coast
    Sunken Ferry

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!