Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

USA to host Copa America in 2016

Copa America 2016
Copa America 2016

Thursday, CONCACAF and CONMEBOL jointly announced that 2016 Copa America, the oldest football competition in the world, will be played in the United States for the first time ever. The prestigious Copa America will be held in cities across the U.S. in the summer of 2016, kicking off on June 3 and culminating with the Final on Sunday, June 26.

The Centennial Copa America will mark the first time the historic South American championship has been played outside of that region. It's the most important sporting event to come to the USA in decades, rivaling the 1994 FIFA World Cup and the 1996 Olympic Games in magnitude.

CONCACAF General Secretary Enrique Sanz revealed his motivation for this U.S.-based Copa America in an interview with me in 2012.

CONCACAF, the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football, is one of six continental confederations of FIFA and comprised of 41 national associations. CONMEBOL, the South American Football Confederation, is composed of the 10 football federations of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

“We are proud to play a leading role in the celebration of the centennial of a tournament born to unite all America," said Eugenio Figueredo, CONMEBOL President. "Year after year the Cup has gained prestige, which has allowed the opening of doors to the football of an entire continent. Now, CONCACAF and the United States will play host to the world’s oldest national team competition.”

The sixteen team field, is comprised of CONMEBOL’s ten Member Associations and six competitors from CONCACAF, including host and 2013 Gold Cup champion United States, and six-time Gold Cup champion Mexico. Additional CONCACAF representatives will include the 2014 champion of the Caribbean Football Union and the winner of the 2014 Central American Cup. The final two CONCACAF teams will be determined by playoff between the four national teams advancing furthest in the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup that are not already qualified to the Copa Cup America.

Uruguay won a record fifteenth Copa America in Argentina in 2011. The next edition of the tournament is set to be played in Chile in 2015.

wematch, a new partnership between three international leaders in soccer - Full Play, Torneos and Traffic Sports - holds the commercial rights for this tournament.


Report this ad