We think you're near Los Angeles

Unexplained Phenomenon web page is almost certainly a hoax, not Google

 

As of yet, no one has explained  today’s Google doodle, nicknamed “Unexplained Phenomenon” for the Google search to which it leads, but there has been an unfortunate development.   A likely internet scam has arisen to take advantage of the curiosity generated by the Google message. An "unexplained phenomenon" page has appeared with a three-line message that says simply:

September 5: Google Releases Unexplained Phenomenon
September 7: Unexplained Phenomenon Releases Message
September 9: Unexplained Phenomenon Releases Video.

In a sinister twist, however, the web page (undisclosed here to avoid directing people to a scam) invites users to “access and fund unexplained phenomenon” by paying $11.11 through your Visa or MasterCard. The page does not display the Google logo, it downloads too slowly to be Google-based, and it explains nothing aside for asking for money.

Needless to say, it is very dangerous in this age of identity theft for anyone to give credit card information to an unknown entity, and the site does nothing to identify its origins.  Those who let their curiosity get the better of them could find trouble on this stealth site.  Whatever plans Google may have had, it is necessary now that someone from Google come out and either acknowledge that this is in fact a Google site, or expose the web-based scam that is capitalizing on their imaginitive idea.

An email has been sent to Google's security alert email address requesting a response. Any response from Google will be posted here, if appropriate.

For more info: Google goes viral: "Unexplained Phenomenon" doodle making waves on the web

Note: Those with more information on Unexplained Phenomenon or the Unexplained phenomenon web page are invited to email me at MESkeptic@gmail.com.

Advertisement

, Skepticism Examiner

Charlie is a writer, living and working in rural New England. He is a news junkie with a love of science, and he has been an open-minded skeptic for the past 20 years. He writes news and opinion, critically examining various paranormal, political, and popular beliefs, and he also explores why...

Comments

  • milo 2 years ago

    what

  • reader 2 years ago

    i find the site to be even more imaginative than google's imagination. perhaps something good is behind it? it seems that they are pretty straight forward. i trust it.

  • sjharrell 2 years ago

    Given that Google was incorporated on September 4th, it would make sense that Google's servers would be online for their first full day on September 5. The O being displaced to the right gives the appearance of the words Go ogle (Go search with interested attention). the fact that it links to unexplained phenomenon and shows a UFO could be a statement from the company which in full would state "Go search with interested attention into the unknown" on September 5th because the servers are now up.

  • Unexplained Phenomenon 2 years ago

    Hello Charles, we appreciate your skepticism although we are not a hoax. By saying "Google Releases Unexplained Phenomenon" we mean exactly that. Luckily and to our benefit, they released a search for "Unexplained Phenomenon" on the day we launched the site. There is no explicit connection between Google and Unexplained Phenomenon, except for their decision to feature it. This may or may not have been planned. As the "UP Team" we appreciate our imagination as much as we appreciate and are thankful for Google's. We also appreciate your cautioning the people of Earth on fraudulent activity. We assure you that we are not a hoax and we hope you will join the membership for the message and video to be released over the next few days. There is much to come! Our hope is to help bring Peace to Earth.

    Please contact us at membership@unexplainedphenomenon.org for validity of this msg or Q's (we could not find your email address, else we would have reached to you directly).

    Cheers,

    UP Te

  • Spyboy4961 2 years ago

    i3.photobucket.com/albums/y78/Spyboy4961/Untitled.jpg?t=1252212274

    Unexplained Phenomenon, by "we" did you mean yourself and the rest of your buddies living at home with your parents and hosting your site from home?

  • Spyboy4961 2 years ago

    Here is the DNS information for the website. This is available at networksolutions.com/whois/index.jsp

    Registrant Name:Joseph Chung
    Registrant Street1:1266 S. California Ave
    Registrant City:Palo Alto
    Registrant State/Province:California
    Registrant Postal Code:94306
    Registrant Country:US
    Registrant Phone:+1.2129205990
    Registrant Phone Ext.:
    Registrant FAX:
    Registrant FAX Ext.:
    Registrant Email:thalas.endeavors@gmail.com

    The .org gTLD have no restriction for registering and are intended for NON-PROFIT organizations. This IS clearly a scam.

  • Unexplained Phenomenon 2 years ago

    Spyboy, thank you for your questions and healthy dose of skepticism. You may email us at membership@unexplainedphenomenon.org if you have any further questions. Please watch for our information releases on 9/7 and 9/9. With Love, UP Team!

  • SpyMore 2 years ago

    Comments on another site led me to this information:
    Do a Google search for "thalas Joseph James Chung CEO"
    The first link is of interest. "Thalas" is in the Registrant's Email. His bio says he's worked with Google. Is this some sort of insider stunt?This is too odd.

  • skeptic 2 years ago

    He also donated $775 to Obama’s campaign.

    And here is:

    aura0.gaia.com/photos/14/137388/large/Joe_1a.jpg

  • skeptic 2 years ago

    Also, use this for what SpyMore is saying:

    lmgtfy.com/?q=thalas+Joseph+James+Chung+CEO

Add a new comment

Join the conversation! Log in here or create a new account if you've never registered before.

Got something to say?

Examiner.com is looking for writers, photographers, and videographers to join the fastest growing group of local insiders. If you are interested in growing your online rep apply to be an Examiner today!

Don't miss...