Skip to main content
  1. News
  2. Top News

UN child petition protocol receives required ratifications

See also

On Tuesday afternoon with the submission in New York City of a crucial ratification by Costa Rica, the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC) will soon be able to hear cases petitioned directly by children or the representatives of children on child human rights issues dealing with child prostitution, child pornography and the sale of children as well as on the rights of children in areas of armed conflict.

In order for children or representative to submit a petition, the child must be from a country which has ratified the treaty and the party must also have exhausted all legal channels within the country. The Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child on a Communications Procedure takes effect in April 2014.

Chairperson of the CRC Kirsten Sandberg stated in the press announcement on the enactment of the document, “The Optional Protocol gives children who have exhausted all legal avenues in their own countries the possibility of applying to the Committee.

“It means children are able to fully exercise their rights and are empowered to have access to international human rights bodies in the same way adults are under several other human rights treaties,” Sandberg continued. “It is a major step forward in the implementation of children’s rights, but at the same time we urge States to develop their own systems to ensure that children’s rights are respected and protected and that their voices can be heard.”

Costa Rica’s ratification of the Optional Protocol was the 10th ratification which was the number required for the protocol to take effect.

As of Tuesday, 45 countries have signed the treaty. The countries which have thus far ratified it are: Albania, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Gabon, Germany, Montenegro, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain and Thailand.

The United States has neither signed nor ratified this treaty.



  • Mt. Everest avalanche
    Disaster strikes Mt. Everest as at least 12 people were killed in an avalanche
    Watch Video
  • Most Earthlike planet discovered
    The Kepler telescope has discovered the most Earthlike, possibly habitable planet yet
    Space News
  • Easter crosses create debate
    Easter crosses spark a debate of separation of church and state in Ohio
  • Chelsea Clinton is preggers
    Former first daughter Chelsea Clinton is pregnant with her first child
  • Stanley Cup playoffs
    The battle for Lord Stanley's Cup is on, don't miss a minute of playoff action
  • Ukraine discussed amongst U.S., E.U., Russia
    The U.S., E.U. and Russia agree on ways to diffuse the tension in Ukraine
    Watch Video

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!