Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

U.S. women basketball team drawn into World Championships Group D

The United States women’s basketball team learned their fate, on March 15, for the 2014 World Championships that will be played in Turkey this fall (Sept. 27- Oct. 5).

The Americans, who won the 2010 worlds in the Czech Republic with a 9-0 record, were placed in Group D along with Serbia, Angola and China. The World Championships is a 16-team tournament that takes place every four years.

China went 2-3 in the 2010 World Championships while Angola and Serbia are in the tournament for the first time. Angola finished 12th at the London Olympics.

The Americans are 4-0 against China at worlds and have taken home eight World Championship gold medals overall. Overall, the U.S. is 97-21 in the World Championships having taken home 11 total medals.

Australia, which has been the main competitor for the U.S. over the past decade, is in Group C along with Belarus, Korea and Cuba. Both Group C and D will play their preliminary round games in Istanbul. The U.S. and Australia will meet if they win their pools and advance to the semifinals.

Host nation Turkey was drawn into Group B which features defending Olympic silver medalist France as well as an up-and-coming Canada squad. Mozambique rounds out the group. Brazil, Japan, Spain and the Czech Republic make up the fourth group. Those two pools will play their games in Ankara.

Teams finishing No. 1 in their respective pools advance directly to the quarterfinals, while teams finishing No. 2 and No. 3 in each pool will be seeded and compete on Oct. 1 for the right to continue to the medal round. The quarterfinals will be held Oct. 3, semifinals on Oct. 4 and the gold and bronze medal games will be contested on Oct. 5. Game times for the medal rounds will be announced by FIBA at a later date.

Team USA, which has a pool of 33 players to select from, could have 10 members from the 2012 Olympic gold medal squad on the 2014 World Championship squad. The team is coached by Connecticut head coach Geno Auriemma.

The pool of players include six collegiate players and 27 players from the WNBA. The six college players are Stefanie Dolson (University of Connecticut), Kayla McBride (University of Notre Dame), Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (University of Connecticut),Odyssey Sims (Baylor University), Breanna Stewart (University of Connecticut) and Alyssa Thomas (University of Maryland).

The rest of the pool of players includes Jayne Appel (San Antonio Silver Stars), Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), DeWanna Bonner (Phoenix Mercury), Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun), Elena Delle Donne (Chicago Sky), Skylar Diggins (Tulsa Shock), Candice Dupree (Phoenix Mercury), Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky), Brittney Griner (Phoenix Mercury), Lindsey Harding (Los Angeles Sparks), Briann January (Indiana Fever), Glory Johnson (Tulsa Shock), Jantel Lavender (Los Angeles Sparks), Kara Lawson (Connecticut Sun), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx), Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Los Angeles Sparks), Candace Parker (Los Angeles Sparks), Cappie Pondexter (New York Liberty), Danielle Robinson (San Antonio Silver Stars), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury), Courtney Vandersloot (Chicago Sky), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx), Monica Wright (Minnesota Lynx) and Sophia Young (San Antonio Silver Stars).

Report this ad