Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

U.S. Navy commissions last 9/11 tribute ship, USS Somerset

A lone sailor walks on the deck of the newly commissioned USS Somerset, prior to the ceremony, on Feb. 21, as it pulls into Penn's Landing.
Matt Rourke (AP Photo)

Today, March 1, 2014, the United States Navy commissioned the USS Somerset at Penn's Landing, Philadelphia, one of three vessels named in honor of the 9/11 World Trade Center attacks.

The ceremony aired live on the official blog of the U.S. Navy earlier this morning.

USS Somerset (LPD 25) specifically honors those passengers of United Airlines Flight 93 that crashed near Shanksville, Somerset, PA on September 11, 2001. It will now join USS New York (LPD-21) and USS Arlington (LPD 24), the other two Naval ships named in remembrance and honor of the courageousness of both the passengers, and the first responders that gave their lives to save others.

According to the U.S. Navy, USS Somerset is the ninth San Antonio-class amphibious transport dock ship. LPDs are designed to be survivable in the event of a combat situation, and have a reduced radar cross-section. They're capable of carrying Landing Craft, Air Cushioned (LCACs), and a number of other advances to ensure both sailors and marines aboard are capable of performing their expeditionary warfare objectives.

Report this ad