Skip to main content

See also:

Twice: Barack Obama returns as Time Person of the Year 2012

Barack Obama

U.S. President Barack Obama has -- for the second time -- been named Time's Person of the Year. Time announced its Person of the Year 2012 award on Wednesday's "Today" show.

Managing Richard Stengel appeared on "Today." Among the points Stengel made regarding the magazine's choice was that the president won two terms with over 50 percent of the popular vote as a Democrat. While this may not sound unusual, it is. Franklin Delano Roosevelt was the last Democrat to win two consecutive re-elections with at least 50 percent of the vote.

Obama did so despite the highest unemployment rate in seven decades, and despite a divided Congress, including a Senate where the minority GOP used the filibuster to block virtually everything, and where Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell said

The single most important thing we want to achieve is for President Obama to be a one-term president.

It wasn't, in fact, to create jobs, improve the economy, or anything else Americans might want. Instead, it was to get Obama out of office, which he and the GOP failed at.

The GOP continues to block things Americans want, not just what Obama wants. The election was a clear indicator that the U.S public wants the rich to pay more taxes -- and that the public does not want Medicare and Social Security touched. Post-election polls continue to show that.

Stengel added that President Obama created a new political "alignment ," saying:

Using the coalition of the ascendant young voters, millennials, Hispanics minorities, he’s creating a new alignment, a kind of realignment like Ronald Reagan did 40 years ago.

Obama was earlier named Time's Person of the Year in 2008, when he was first elected.

Time's Person of the Year isn't always a person, and it isn't always someone beloved. Witness last year’s choice, The Protester, along with notorious Persons of the Year including Adolf Hitler in 1938, Joseph Stalin in 1943 and Iran’s Ayatollah Khomeini in 1979.

Aviator Charles Lindbergh was chosen as the first Man of the Year back in 1927, with the title being amended to Person of the Year in 1999.