Halloween is right around the corner. The trick-or-treaters will be out in hordes to collect the sugary bounty. Everyone can be tempted to sample some of those wonderful treats that the stores offer or the kids gather. For some, there can be hidden 'surprises' in a favorite candy. Gluten can lurk in the most unsuspecting treats.
There are many lists published that allow readers to determine what products are gluten-free. Luckily, these lists are updated fairly often. Celiacdisease.about.com posted an updated list recently that has links to each manufacturer's website so that readers can contact the company personally with any additional questions.
Schools often have small celebrations for the holidays and teachers need to be made aware as well. The list can be printed off and given to any teacher, babysitter, or other caregiver in order to avoid an allergic reaction. Staying informed is the best way to prevent painful holiday.
The list includes many of the top candy manufacturers. Nestle, Mars, Hershey, and many others list which products are glute- free and safe for Celiac sufferers.
Some labels say that they are manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat or gluten. Calling the individual company can verify whether or not the sanitation standards meet the requirements to be considered gluten-free.
Halloween marks the start of the holiday season. There are many potential risks when the food is not prepared or purchased by the individual with the allergy. Maintain awareness and pass the information along to ensure a happy holiday season for everyone.