Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Tournament leadership for 2014-2015; Amy Wainscott to be 2022 president

Leadership announced for 2014-2015 Tournament of Roses
Leadership announced for 2014-2015 Tournament of Roses
Laura Berthold Monteros

Amy Wainscott, a Tournament of Roses volunteer since 1992, was elected to the Executive Committee on Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014. Pres. Richard L. Chinen announced the leadership and organizational structure for 2014-2015 as his first official duty as president. Wainscott is on track to become the fourth woman president of the Tournament of Roses in 2022 for the 133rd Rose Parade and 108th Rose Bowl Game.

The 14-member Executive Committee is made up of the Past President, President, seven other officers who will ascend to the presidency in order of election, and five at-large members. Members have served many years as volunteers and given hundreds of hours of time to attain these positions of leadership.

As a Pasadena City College alumna, former City of Pasadena employee, a general contractor in the city, and a member of the Rose Bowl Press Box Renovation steering committee in 1992, Wainscott has earned her Pasadena credentials. She was the first woman to chair the Tournament’s Parade Operations Committee and has also chaired the Coronation/VIP Tailgate, Float Entries and Queen & Court committees. The first chair position she held was in 2002 and she was named a Tournament Director in 2011.

Wainscott (neé Kauzalric) was born and raised in Eagle River, Wis., moving to California at age 18. She studied Administration of Justice at PCC and construction management at Cal Poly Pomona. She is currently is working toward a degree in counseling. Since retiring from the construction industry, she has been active in real estate investment and property management. She and her husband Tim have six children, Peter, John, Amanda, Olivia, Hannah and Kirsten.

Elected Executive Committee members, in addition to Wainscott and Chinen, are Ira C. (Mike) Matthiessen, executive vice president; Brad Ratliff, treasurer; Lance M. Tibbet, secretary; R. Scott Jenkins, past president; vice presidents Gerald K. Freeny, Laura V. Farber and Robert B. Miller. The five appointed at-large members are Jerome Cannon, J. Michael Gin, Barbara Kuntz, Philip V. Orozco and Laurie Stiver. Chinen also announced the election of five new members to the Association’s board of directors: Richard M. DeJesu, Greg Custer, Karen Jong, Russell C. Thyret and Ellen Swagerty.

Like this story?
Columnists are not notified of comments via Disqus, so if you have a question or would like a reply to your comment, please post on Facebook at All Things Rose Parade or email The theme of the 126th Rose Parade and 101st Rose Bowl Game on Jan. 1, 2015 is “Inspiring Stories.” Subscribe to Tournament of Roses Examiner by clicking the "Subscribe" link for the latest news and for upcoming announcements.

Report this ad