Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Tony Stewart wins the pole at Texas for the Duck Commander 500

See also

Tony Stewart will start the 18th Annual Duck Commander 500 from the pole. Stewart won his 15th Coors Light Pole Award in 528 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races with a lap of 27.628 seconds at 195.454 mph at the 1.5 mile track.

More Photos

“Our Mobil 1/Bass Pro Shops Chevy is fast,” Stewart said. “It was good in the first run. In the second run, it was pretty good and we were second and we ran a little bit quicker. We didn’t know what we could run the third time, but I knew what (Greg) Biffle had run. The good thing is Chad Johnston (crew chief) made a really big change there to try and make it better. Like he said ‘I was either going to make you quick, or I was going to make you 12th.’ I’m glad he made the change. He’s got a lot of confidence and I really like that. We’re on the pole because of it.”

This is Stewart’s second pole in 24 races at Texas Motor Speedway as well as a two-time Sprint Cup winner at Texas (November 2006 and November 2011).

Qualifying consisted of three rounds, with the first round being 25 minutes. The fastest 24 drivers from the first round advanced to the second, 10 minute round. The 12 fastest drivers from that session move to the final, five minute round of qualifying as the vied for the pole. Positions 1-12 were set by speeds in the final five minute round, with positions 13-24 set by speeds in the second qualifying round. The remaining 43 car field for Sunday’s race was set by speeds posted by those who did not advance past the first round of qualifying.

Brad Keselowski will start second, and Stewart-Haas teammate Kevin Harvick will start third, with Greg Biffle and Carl Edwards starting fourth and fifth respectively.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Hottest WNBA players
    Dig in to this WNBA slideshow and see what has Drake so hot and bothered
    20 Photos
  • Feeling groovy: The truth about Adam Wainwright and the grooved Derek Jeter pitch
    MLB News
  • Rory's dad cashes in
    Rory McIlroy's dad Gerry cashes in on $342,000 bet on son's British Open win
  • Bob Burnquist interview
    Examiner exclusive: Skateboarding legend Bob Burnquist talks Dew Tour and Toyota
  • 40-year-old cheerleader
    40-year-old mom Kriste Lewis becomes New Orleans Saints cheerleader
    NFL News