Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. MLB

Tony LaRussa, Bobby Cox, Joe Torre unanimously elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

See also

A year after failing to have a living inductee for the first time since 1960, the Hall of Fame today announced the election of three men who are alive and well.

Tony LaRussa, Joe Torre, and Bobby Cox gained election today after receiving unanimous support in Expansion Era balloting. No other candidate received the required 12 votes of the 16-member electorate.

A three-time World Champion, LaRussa's 2,728 wins place him third on the all-time wins list behind Connie Mack (3,731) and John McGraw (2,763).

LaRussa got his start in Chicago with Bill Veeck’s White Sox before moving on to Oakland in 1986. From 1988 to 1990 LaRussa’s team won three straight AL Championships and the 1989 title.

After a fourth-place finish with Oakland in 1995, LaRussa went to St. Louis. In 16 years with the Cardinals, LaRussa’s teams won six division titles, three National League Championships, and two World Series.

Cox follows LaRussa as fourth on the all-time wins list with 2,504 victories in 29 seasons.

After ten lackluster campaigns guiding the Toronto Blue Jays and the Braves, Cox’s teams hit their stride in 1991. In each of the next 14 full seasons, the Braves won their division. A four-time Manager of the Year, Cox led Atlanta to five National League Championships and one World Series title.

The feisty Cox also holds the Major League record with 158 regular-season ejections.

Torre followed up a stellar player career – nine All Star appearances and an MVP award – with a 29-year managerial stretch that included six AL Pennants, four World Series Championships and 2,326 regular-season wins.

Fifth on the all-time wins list is Torre who managed the Mets, Braves, and Cardinals before taking over the Yankees in 1996.

It was with the Yankees that he made his mark, taking over a team that hadn’t won a championship since 1978 and leading it to a World Series title in his first season.

Torre earned four rings in his first five seasons with the Yankees.

The only other skipper on the ballot was Billy Martin who led teams to six first-place finishes, two pennants, and a World Series win during his 16-year managerial career.

George Steinbrenner was denied in his bid to follow Jacob Ruppert as the second Yankee owner inducted in as many years.

Former MLB Players’ Association executive director Marvin Miller who was one vote shy of election the last time he appeared on the ballot, again failed to receive enough support.

Dave Parker, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Davey Concepcion, Dan Quisenberry and Ted Simmons each received less than the required 12 votes for election.

Voting totals were not immediately available for the candidates who came up short.

Visit Baseball Hall of Fame page on Facebook to offer your opinions and talk baseball. While you’re there, hit the “Like” button so you can receive updates.

As always, Jim encourages your email comments.


Today's top buzz...

  • Eric Hill
    Rumored 'Bachelorette' contest Eric Hill has died after a skydiving accident
  • Buffalo Jills
    The Buffalo Bills cheerleaders have filed a lawsuit over an unacceptable pay system
    NFL News
  • Robert Plant
    Robert Plant lays the rumors to rest surrounding a Led Zeppelin reunion
    Music News
  • FC Barcelona
    FIFA temporarily lifts transfer embargo against FC Barcelona
    Soccer Buzz
  • Jamie Bell
    Exclusive: Jamie Bell goes back in history to a Revolutionary War spy ring in 'Turn'
    TV Buzz
  • Steve Austin
    'Stone Cold' Steve Austin's support of gay marriage goes viral

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!