Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Tim Flynn, Chance Marsteller, Taylor Walsh among 2014 WIN magazine award winners

WIN Magazine announces its annual awards in its May 27, 2014 issue
Photo courtesy of WIN Magazine, used with permission

Edinboro coach Tim Flynn, Oklahoma State recruit Chance Marsteller, and Indiana’s Taylor Walsh are among WIN – Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine – award winners for 2014, the amateur wrestling publication revealed at its website Tuesday.

The magazine announced winners for Coach of the Year, Junior Dan Hodge Trophy, Schalles Award, and Journalist of the Year, among other honors.

Flynn was named WIN’s Dan Gable Coach of the Year for 2014. The head coach of the Fighting Scots for 16 seasons just lead his team to its highest-ever NCAA finish – fifth place – at the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in Oklahoma City in March. In addition, Flynn could claim three NCAA All-Americans this year, all who will return to action next season.

Marsteller has earned the 2014 Junior Dan Hodge Trophy for high school wrestlers, a companion honor to the Hodge Trophy presented to the nation's top college wrestler. (Penn State's David Taylor was the 2014 recipient of the collegiate Hodge.). A four-time Pennsylvania high school state champ, Marsteller compiled a flawless 166-0 record at Kennard-Dale High. After initially saying he would wrestle at Penn State, Marsteller signed a letter of intent with Oklahoma State. The Junior Hodge is the second major award for Marsteller this month, having been named 2014 Dave Schultz High School Excellence National award-winner May 13.

Walsh is the recipient of the 2014 Schalles Award, presented to the wrestler who is the most prolific pinner in collegiate competition. The Indiana University 157-pound junior scored 25 falls during the 2013-14 season, setting the Hoosier record for pins. Even more incredible: Walsh pinned 15 straight opponents.

Cornell University recruit Brandon Womack pinned down the Junior Schalles Award for the leading fall guy in scholastic wrestling. The 160-pound high school senior from Alabama, a six-time state champ, sought to improve his pinning percentage to make himself more attractive to Division I programs… compiling 66 falls in a perfect 77-0 season.

Winner of WIN’s Journalist of the Year for 2014 is wrestling photographer John Sachs of, who has captured mat action at numerous NCAA wrestling championships as well as at two Olympics.

Martin Floreani, creator of, has received the Mike Chapman Impact Award for 2014. The former Cal Poly wrestler first launched FloWrestling in 2006 to share video from national and international wrestling events.

The annual awards will be featured in WIN’s May 27 issue, mailed to subscribers May 22. In addition, that issue will also feature Kyle Klingman’s humorous “WINNIES” awards.

Report this ad