Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Tiano and Moon pick Mississippi State while Bateman Selects Arkansas State

Two Chattanooga area football players will join forces in Starkville next season.

Baylor Quarterback Nick Tiano and Signal Mountain offensive lineman Harrison Moon both committed to Mississippi State a day apart.

Both players took to Twitter to make their announcements.

"I have officially committed to Mississippi State University," Tiano said via his Twitter account on Thursday.

Moon went on Twitter and announced his decision on Friday.

"I'm officially committed to Mississippi State University," Moon said.

Tiano (6-5, 230) picked the Bulldogs over offers from Chattanooga and Miami (FL), while Moon selected MSU over Georgia Tech and South Florida.

Tiano had a solid junior campaign in 2013 as he passed for 1,071 yards and seven touchdowns and added another 342 yards and five more scores on the ground as the Red Raiders went 7-5 on the season.

Tiano and Moon are the 15th and 16th commitments in the class of 2015 for Mississippi State and join Memphis Central Athlete Deddrick Thomas as Bulldog commitments from Tennessee.

Ridgeway's Bateman Selects Red Wolves

Elontae Bateman felt right at home in Jonesboro, Arkansas.

So much so that Bateman (6-2, 265) a defensive tackle from Ridgeway has committed to Arkansas State.

"I chose Arkansas State because of the coaching staff and I think I can come in as a true freshman and start or make impacting plays on defense," Bateman said. "Plus, it's close to home and I want my family to see me play."

Bateman chose the Red Wolves over offers from Austin Peay, Tennessee State, Howard, UT- Martin, Southeast Missouri State and Eastern Illinois.

He will have a familiar face in Jonesboro as well as Roadrunner teammate Earl Harrison also is committed to Arkansas State.

Bateman is the seventh 2015 commitment for the Red Wolves and second defensive lineman in the class.

He is the 13th commitment in the Volunteer State in the class of 2015 joining Baylor quarterback Nick Tiano (Mississippi State), Signal Mountain offensive lineman Harrison Moon (Mississippi State), Ridgeway running back Earl Harrison (Arkansas State), Melrose Safety Tony Pollard (Memphis), Blackman Athlete Jauan Jennings (Tennessee), Nashville Overton defensive back Ugo Amandi (Ole Miss), Ensworth defensive back Donovan Sheffield (Vanderbilt), Ensworth defensive back Rico McGrew (Georgia), Oakland offensive lineman Jack Jones (Tennessee), Maryville defensive end Dylan Jackson (Tennessee), Coalfield offensive lineman Zack Stewart (Tennessee) and Clinton wide receiver Jaylond Woods (Tennessee).

Contact Donovan at and follow him on Twitter at Examine_Stew

Report this ad