Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Three-peat: Oregon State wins third straight Pac-12 mat title with three champs

Oregon State won its third consecutive conference title at the 2014 Pac-12 Wrestling Championships
Oregon State won its third consecutive conference title at the 2014 Pac-12 Wrestling Championships
Tony Rotundo,

Oregon State wrestling claimed its third consecutive Pac-12 conference crown with three individual champions at Maples Pavilion at Stanford University Sunday night.

The Beavers won the 2014 Pac-12 team title with 155.5 points to take their fourth championship in five years. In keeping with the “winning three straight” theme, a trio of Oregon State wrestlers won individual conference titles in consecutive order, starting with 141-pounder Joey Delgado, immediately followed by Scott Sakaguchi at 149, and, at 157, R.J. Pena.

Host school Stanford placed second with 134 team points, and four individual champs: Evan Silver at 125, Ryan Mango at 133, Jim Wilson at 165, and Dan Scherer at 197, who was named the tournament’s Outstanding Wrestler.

In third place in the team standings was Boise State, with 128.5. Two Broncho big men, Jake Swartz and J.T. Felix, won the 184-pound and heavyweight titles, respectively.

Cal State Bakersfield could claim one individual champ in Bryce Hammond at 174, who successfully defended his title with the only fall of the finals.

Based on qualifier allocations released by the NCAA last week, a minimum of 17 wrestlers from the Pac-12 conference will be competing at the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in Oklahoma City, March 20-22.

Finals Results:

  • 125: Evan Silver (Stanford) dec. Rami Haddadin (BSU), 8-6
  • 133: Ryan Mango (Stanford) dec. Devon Lotito (Cal Poly), 5-2
  • 141: Joey Delgado (Ore. St.) dec. Ian Nickell (CSUB), 10-5
  • 149: Scott Sakaguchi (Ore. St.) dec. Chris Castillo (BSU), 7-5
  • 157: R.J. Pena (Ore. St.) maj. dec. Joel Smith (ASU), 8-0
  • 165: Jim Wilson (Stanford) dec. Nick Rex (ASU), 5-1
  • 174: Bryce Hammond (CSUB) pinned Joe Latham (Ore. St.), 3:43
  • 184: Jake Swartz (BSU) dec. Blake Stauffer (ASU), 3-2
  • 197: Dan Scherer (Stanford) dec. Taylor Meeks (Ore. St.), 4-2, SV1
  • Hwt: J.T. Felix (BSU) dec. Amarveer Dhesi (Ore. St), 7-1

Team Standings:
1. Oregon State (155.5 points)
2. Stanford (134.0)
3. Boise State (128.5)
4. Arizona State (111.0)
5. CSU Bakersfield (109.5)
6. Cal Poly (74.5)

It's the most exciting time of the college wrestling season! Subscribe today! Keep up with the biggest on-the-mat developments (including conference and national championships), as well coach hirings, firings and retirings, new programs, new events, new ways to promote wrestling, and other stories you won't find elsewhere... by clicking the "subscribe" button at the top of the page to make sure you don't miss a single article from College Wrestling Examiner, winner of Amateur Wrestling News' Dellinger Award as wrestling writer of 2011. It's absolutely FREE!


College Wrestling 101: Links to College Wrestling Examiner articles answering basic questions about wrestling, including rules, scoring, uniforms, more

Follow College Wrestling Examiner Mark Palmer on Twitter

Report this ad