Here is a quick roundup of some of the latest happenings in the social media world.
Facebook is finally getting rid of the "Who can look up your Timeline by name?" setting. This feature allowed users to remain hidden from search results within the social network.
As a result, the company advises members to visit their privacy settings and limit the visibility for old posts:
To further control what people see across the site:
1. Share each post with the people you want to be able to see it. You control this every time you post.
2. Use Activity Log to review individual things you’ve already shared. Here you can delete things you may not want to appear on Facebook anymore, untag photos and change the privacy of past posts.
3. Ask friends and others to remove anything they may have shared about you that you don’t want on the site. You can do this by reaching out to the person directly, or using the reporting feature, also available in Activity Log.
(Source: Facebook Newsroom)
This news follows Facebook’s decision to add public posts to the list of items that are discoverable within Graph Search.
Google+ Communities received two major improvements on Thursday. Members now have the ability to turn email notifications on or off for posts directly from their account settings page. The option is located at the bottom of the "Receive notifications" section.
Additionally, flagged posts will be moved to an out-of-sight 'spam folder'. Moderators will see a red notification box right above the "About this community" area. Clicking it will bring the page where they can decide which posts will make the cut.
This week, Google also updated its terms of service. Taking effect on November 11, 2013, the new TOS includes a clause that allows the company to feature the activity (+1s, shares, comments, follows, reviews…), name and photo of a user and Page in Search, Maps, Play and relevant ads. However, the information is only visible to those with whom the account holder has chosen to share their activity. Further, the amendment does not apply to users under the age of 18.
"When it comes to shared endorsements in ads, you can choose whether your name and photo may be used to help your friends find stuff you love (and avoid stuff you don't)," says Google+ expert Yifat Cohen. "The name and photo shown in shared endorsements are the public profile name and photo you have chosen on Google+."
To opt out of shared endorsements for ads, visit the Shared Endorsements settings page.
Klout is making it easier for influencers to tie their online presence to Bing with a new feature called Klout-verified Snapshots.
To claim your Snapshot, log in to your Klout account and connect your LinkedIn profile. The next time someone searches your name on Bing, the results will automatically show in the right sidebar a summary of your LinkedIn profile, links to your connected social media accounts, your Klout Score and topics, and two of your most influential moments from Twitter and Instagram.
"You can manage what gets shown in your Snapshot by editing your public profile data on LinkedIn," says The Official Klout Blog. "You can also turn off the display of Twitter and Instagram moments on Bing or opt out of Klout-verified Snapshots by changing your Connected Networks settings on Klout."
The company also announced that it had a struck a partnership with Comcast and NBCUniversal to launch an upcoming feature. Called "See It," the feature appears in the form of a button in a Tweet, and works like a remote control. Clicking it will allow Xfinity TV users to tune in to a show, change the channel, set the DVR, and play a show On Demand.