We think you're near Los Angeles

There's something "fishy" about Mary

Mary Steadman from San Jose, CA that is.  According to her site,  http://www.marylifeblog.com/ she fell on some hard times and lost her job.  The good news is that she has since turned it all around.

In her own words…

My name is Mary Steadman. Married 3 years to Kevin. I lost my job as a boring account rep for a manufacturing company a few months back. But here is my story on how I make $5,000+ a month by just submitting small texts and ads online on Google.

Good for you Mary!  That’s great income from just a couple of clicks.

Hey, I also looked up the Domain Owner , and it looks like you don’t actually own the site.

jose menendez ()
+1.2548512569
Fax: +1.2548512569
17425 Nw 77th Ct, Hialeah
Hialeah, FL 33015

Hold the phone!  Looks like Mary moved!  She’s now living in Spring Grove IL http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090605072004AAOInNO

I also found that great write up of you in The Chicago Gazette News except they have a horrible URL: http://nastyornice.com/ (especially for a big newspaper).  I could go on and on.

Oh and by the way…  do you know Kevin Hoeffer from San Jose, CA?  He has http://www.kevinmakesdough.com/ and incredibly he has a very similar story!

My name is Kevin Hoeffer. Married 3 years to Audrey. I lost my job as a boring account rep for a manufacturing company a few months back. But here is my story on how I make $5,000+ a month by just submitting small texts and ads online on Google.

Looks like Jose owns that site as well.


All kidding aside, the moral of the story is that this is just another scam.  Plain and simple.  Hungry for more? Here’s a few thousand

Google Scams

Heck, even Matt Cutts, straight from Google tells everyone he can about these scams every time he speaks!

Now should you find yourself blissfully married for around 3 years * and recently lose your job as a boring account rep for a manufacturing company, step back and think about this for a minute or two.  Do I really have to say it out loud?  If something sounds too good to be true – it is!

NOTE: In case you were curious, the small $1 they initially charge you is for a "welcome packet", then there is a monthly auto charge of $60 - 100 dollars.  The system still doesn’t work, and you’ll be out $100 a month until you can cancel (if you can cancel).  Still sound good?

* Today is the our 20th wedding anniversary! (thanks dear!) Smooch!

Advertisement

, SF Social Media Examiner

Mike is moderator of one of the largest groups in ActiveRain (over 150,000 members). He appears frequently on television and radio, and his articles have been widely published. Numerous newspapers and other publications, including The Wall Street Journal, have sought his expertise. He was named...

Comments

  • Connie Tebyani 2 years ago

    Amazing what "people" or companies will stoop to try and make a "scam-able" buck. My ads and emails are CONSTANTLY bombarded with short text spam-mails and all they say is "Still looking for work"? - NO!

    And congrats on 20 years!

  • Thesa Chambers 2 years ago

    I wish more people would realize this lesson. I guess I would not qualify - I do not have a boring job and I have been married longer than 3 years - keep spreading the word

  • djdonlv444 2 years ago

    Does anyone know of any legitimate jobs to work on at home on your computer without any costs that makes good money? Anyone

  • Mike Mueller 2 years ago

    djdonlv444 - I don't know of any in which you are not producing something of value.

    I have clients that want blog post written, (content based on keywords).

    Or people with tech backgrounds that create websites, blogs, map mashups, or Facebook Business Pages (myself included).

    Or writers who can craft great looking Resumes.

    Or graphic designers that create banner images, avatars and widget images.

    In each case they are getting paid for legitimately creating something of value.

    Let me ask you, what is it that you can do, that someone else needs, that they might be willing to pay for?

    Identify that, market that, and there is your work from home business. Need help with the marketing - just ask! Mike@AreWeConnected.com

  • Lisa Patterson 2 years ago

    Thanks for writing about this because I have seen this scam for all kinds of "work at home" and "free goverment money" and the picture of this "local person" is from all kinds of cities nation wide.

  • Daryl Welch 2 years ago

    Thanks for the investigative info. When I first saw the ad, on MSN website by the way, I knew it was too good to be true, so I tryed to research the company, but I did not know how.

  • M Steadman 2 years ago

    THIS IS A SCAM!!! I am being bombarded with phone calls about this magical money scheme and this family does not exsist. For your own protection, I would advise you do not participate in the pirimide scheme

  • me 2 years ago

    i know of one. it is piece rate work and wont replace your income but it is true work from home.
    just type
    amazon mturk
    into a search engine

  • ed 2 years ago

    I found an saying saying she lives in salinas, ca and it has the same story. At first i belived it, but then i did some research and i found this. Now i know its a scam

  • Shawie 2 years ago

    Lol i thought she lives in Caldwell!! I am from Idaho so when i tried to access the site its says she's from caldwell Idaho. Dah!!

  • s.domainnames 2 years ago

    Hi this is s.domainnames
    In each case they are getting paid for legitimately creating something of value.www.hostplannet.com

Add a new comment

Join the conversation! Log in here or create a new account if you've never registered before.

Got something to say?

Examiner.com is looking for writers, photographers, and videographers to join the fastest growing group of local insiders. If you are interested in growing your online rep apply to be an Examiner today!

Don't miss...