Skip to main content

See also:

The Winner Is.......

FIFA President Sepp Blatter (R) and President of the Amaury Group, Marie-Odile Amaury confirm the new FIFA Ballon D'Or award
FIFA President Sepp Blatter (R) and President of the Amaury Group, Marie-Odile Amaury confirm the new FIFA Ballon D'Or award

Earlier this week the nominees for FIFA's end of the year awards were announced. 23 men for the inaugural FIFA Ballon D'Or, 10 women for the FIFA Women's POY, and 10 coaches each for the FIFA Coach of the Year for Men's & Women's Football. On December 6, FIFA and France Football will announce at a media event in Paris the names of the three men and three women, as well as the three men's coaches and three women's coaches, who have received the most votes. All eyes of course will be on the FIFA Balon D'Or award which was won last season by Barcelona's Argentine star forward Lionel Messi. It doesn't look like Messi win this season due to his disappointing performance at the 2010 South Africa World Cup.

The betting odds have Inter Milan's Dutch #10 Wesley Sneijder as the favorite to win award after his midfield play led the Nerazzurri to the 1st treble by an Italian side and the Oranje to the World Cup final. While Sneijder is deserving, the inaugural FIFA Balon D'Or winner should be Atlético Madrid's Uruguayan star striker Diego Forlán. He was just as important to Atlético Madrid's success as Sneijder was to Inter's success while leading Uruguay to a 4th place WC finish. Everyone who follows football were surprised that the Netherlands made it to the WC final but were shocked when Uruguay made it to the WC semis.

Forlán led Los Colchoneros to their 1st ever Europa League trophy as he scored both goals in the Europa League final against Fulham. 4 of his 6 Europa League goals came in the semifinals and the final. He also scored in the quarters, semis, and 3rd place match for Uruguay at the World Cup. Sneijder disappeared in the final against Spain. Forlán is clutch for country and club in the biggest of matches and he won the Golden Ball as the World Cup's best player, only once has the Golden Ball winner NOT won the FIFA Player Of the Year, that was in 2002 when Germany’s goalkeeper Oliver Kahn won the Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player over Brazil’s Ronaldo but O Fenômeno captured the FIFA POY.

If Sneijder wins the 1st ever FIFA Balon D'Or, Congrats to him but Diego Forlán did as much with less around him and for that he his the best choice to win the 2010 FIFA Balon D'Or trophy. One more thing, why is Diego Milito not on this list. The man was a beast for Inter Milan in their treble season and socred 2 goals in the Champions League final, its a damn shame he isn't on the list.