Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

The Widowhood Effect’s tour kick-off show at J Michael’s Union Avenue Pub

See also

PUEBLO, Colo.—The Widowhood Effect performed a near three hour set at J Michael’s Union Avenue Pub. The majority of their sets were originals, less than a handful of covers and a few instrumentals.

More Photos

Brandon Benoit plays the foot tambourine, bass, guitar and kickdrum, James Curtis plays the guitar, bass and provide vocals and Russell Basques plays the banjo, guitar and bass for The Widowhood Effect.

Before The Widowhood Effect began the first hour by covering Trampled By Turtles “Alone”—Curtis mentioned they were going on tour, stated they had merchandise for sale and donations would be appreciated. Later—he exchanged his guitar for a bass and accompanied Benoit and Basques, for their first “(Untitled)” instrumental. As they performed it, women from various directions danced in front of them and pulled strangers to dance. They ended the first set with Benoit’s “Untitled)” instrumental.

“Talking About Me”, “Her Noise” and “Compromised” were also part of The Widowhood Effects first set.

A Day To Remember’s “If It Means A Lot To You” was covered to start off the second hour. As Curtis sang, members of the audience sang along with him. Basques and Curtis left shortly before “Dream With Me”, while Benoit spoke to the audience. He ended the second set the same way he did for the first with another instrumental, “Her Ghost”.

“Shooting Stars”, “2nd and Santa Fe”, “I Need You To Know”, “Blind”, “Dream With Me” and “Lullabye” were part of The Widowhood Effect’s second set.

“Web of Lies” began the final hour of The Widowhood Effect’s concert. Benoit began the song by playing the guitar. Basques joined him shortly after, by providing bass. After Benoit incorporated the foot tambourine and kick drum, he was accompanied by Curtis’ lyrics. During the song, his band mates paused briefly with the instrumentals and he continued to project his voice. For the last chorus—he held the same lyric, adjusted his tone, held onto his note, while Basques and Benoit paused three times.

Prior to “Dead Queen”, Curtis mentioned it was a song he had written with his ex-girlfriend. After they had broken up prior, he rewrote the lyrics to suit him. As The Widowhood Effect performed the, a member of the audience’s tears formed and she wiped them away. They went onto end their performance with “One Last Cigarette”.

“Let It Go” was also part of The Widowhood Effect’s third set.


Today's top buzz...

  • Mariah Carey
    Mariah Carey requires kittens before a show, but that's not the strangest celebrity rider
    Music Buzz
  • Clayton Kershaw
    Watch Clayton Kershaw throw a ball at Jimmy Kimmel
    Today's Buzz
  • Jessie J
    Jessie J enlists Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj for her new song 'Bang Bang'
    Music Buzz
  • Journey
    Journey and Steve Miller jam out at the Shoreline Amphitheater
    16 Photos
  • Batman
    Batman and Robin Originals reveal comedy secrets at Comic-Con press conference
    12 Photos
  • Metta World Peace
    Metta World Peace gets physical during the Venice Basketball League game
    Sports Buzz