Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

'The View' new hosts chosen to replace Jenny McCarthy and Sherri Shepherd

"The View" has chosen two new hosts to replace Jenny McCarthy and Sherri Shepherd, according to Yahoo! Celebrity News on Wednesday. Reportedly, ABC has tapped actress Rosie Perez and political commentator Nicolle Wallace to join Whoopi Goldberg and Rosie O'Donnell. Season 18 of "The View" is set to kick off in September with the two new co-hosts added to the panel.

Barbara Walters attends an evening with the hosts of 'The View' at The Paley Center for Media on April 9, 2008 in New York City.
Photo by Bryan Bedder/Getty Images

"The View," co-created by Barbara Walters, first premiered on ABC in 1997 with an original hosting panel consisting of Meredith Vieira, Star Jones, Debbie Matenopoulos and Barbara Walters. Joy Behar was added to take turns with Walters as the fourth co-host but was soon hired on as another full-time host. In 1998, Debbie Matenopoulos' contract was not renewed, and she was replaced by American journalist Lisa Ling.

Ling stuck around as co-host of the talk show until 2002 when she left to host "National Geographic Explorer." In November 2003, Elisabeth Hasselbeck replaced Ling as new co-host but left in July 2013 after 10 years with "The View" to replace Gretchen Carlson as female co-host of the early morning opinion talk show "Fox & Friends." Long-time co-host Meredith Vieira announced in 2006 that she was leaving "The View" to replace Katie Couric as co-host of NBC's "The Today Show."

That same year, Star Jones also announced her departure from "The View" after nearly 10 years. Jones claims that the decision to leave was not her own. The network had declined to renew Jones' contract due to diminished viewer approval for the co-host. Rosie O'Donnell joined "The View" cast members in September 2006 for the start of Season 10 but left in 2007 when her contract expired after less than a year as co-host.

Walters replaced O'Donnell with Whoopi Goldberg for the eleventh season. Walters also announced in 2007 that Sherri Shepherd would be joining as a permanent co-host, once again completing the panel with five co-hosts. Joy Behar left "The View" in 2013 at the end of Season 16, saying "It seemed like the right time." Jenny McCarthy was announced as permanent co-host on July 15, 2013.

Walters retired as co-host of "The View" in May 2014 but continued as executive producer, and in June 2014, Shepherd and McCarthy left the show. "The View" was left with only Whoopi Goldberg as co-host until Rosie O'Donnell returned in 2014. Perez, 49, and Wallace, 42, will fill the vacated co-host seats left from McCarthy and Shepherd, bringing the panel back to four co-hosts for Season 18.

"The View" has been through several hosts in the last 17 years. The two new co-hosts will be part of a "makeover" of the daytime talk show, according to The "top-to-bottom makeover"will consist of a new set, a new studio and a new logo, as well as a new behind-the-scenes team. ABC released a statement saying that the upcoming season due to air on September 15 will be "unlike any in recent history." Executive producer Bill Wolff added that this new mix is "smart, vibrant and energetic" and "unlike anything else on daytime television.”

Report this ad