Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

‘The View’: Jenny McCarthy and Sherri Shepherd exit the show

Sherri Shepherd of The View
Photo by Neilson Barnard/Getty Images for Samsung

ABC’s “The View” is going look and sound very different next season. Academy Award winner Whoopi Goldberg is now the show’s solo co-host. Goldberg’s fellow co-hosts of the long-running morning chat fest, Sherri Shepherd and Jenny McCarthy, are both leaving the daytime television staple and will not return next season. The news comes less than one month after creator and executive producer Barbara Walters announced her retirement on air. Shepherd confirmed her departure in a statement to The Wrap.

"It's been seven wonderful years on “The View” and after careful consideration it is time for me to move on. I am extremely grateful to Barbara Walters and (executive producer) Bill Geddie for giving me the opportunity. I look forward to the business opportunities that lay ahead for me and I am incredibly grateful to my View family and my fans for supporting me on this journey.”

McCarthy's departure has been rumored for some time before being officially confirmed by ABC to USA Today. "The View” will be moving in an exciting new direction next season and ABC has made decisions to evolve the show creatively,” ABC said in a statement.

McCarthy tweeted about leaving the show as well.

"My View will be changing too. As will with many hard working folks. Thanks to everyone at the show for your dedication and an amazing year."

McCarthy joined the show for the 17th season after the departures of long time co-hosts Elisabeth Hasselbeck and Joy Behar. Since the show’s debut in 1997, the revolving door of co-hosts have also included Star Jones, Debbie Matenopoulos, Meredith Vieira, Lisa Ling and Rosie O’Donnell. All ten co-hosts reunited live last month to honor Walters for her last appearance on the show.

Future plans for the show have yet to be announced.

“The View” airs weekdays on ABC.

Report this ad