Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

The top science fiction writers to be honored July 16

Two of the most sought after awards within the science fiction genre will be awarded next week during the annual John W. Campbell Science Fiction Conference at the University of Kansas.

The three-day conference will feature presentations of the Campbell Award for best science fiction novel of the year, and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the year's best short of science fiction.

Sturgeon died in 1985 and has received acclaim for his short stories.

Noel Sturgeon, Theodore's daughter, will make her first appearance at the conference to present the Sturgeon award. She is a professor of women's studies at Washington State University.

The 2009 winners of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award include:

1st Place "The Ray Gun: A Love Story," James Alan Gardner

2nd Place "Memory Dog," Kathleen Ann Goonan

3rd Place "The Tear," Ian McDonald

The annual John W. Campbell Science Fiction Conference opens July 16 at the Lawrence campus.



Arts & Entertainment

  • Iggy Azalea
    Iggy Azalea shakes things up at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
  • Bachelorette
    Andi Dorfman chose a man on 'The Bachelorette', but did he pop the question?
    TV Buzz
  • Jennifer Lopez
    Watch J.Lo transform from Fly Girl to one of the world's hottest women
    18 Photos
  • Child stars
    You won't believe what some of these former child stars look like all grown up
    26 Photos
  • Celebrity tattoos
    We're not sure what some of these stars were thinking when they got inked
    23 Photos
  • Freddie Prinze Jr
    Freddie Prinze Jr. made jaws drop with some shocking admissions about Keifer Sutherland
    Pop Culture