Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

The San Francisco Symphony gets recognized for ‘adventurous programming’

See also

Yesterday, during the National Conference of the League of American Orchestras (LAO), the American Society of Composers and Publishers (ASCAP) announced its annual Awards for Adventurous Programming. These non-cash awards were conceived jointly by ASCAP and LAO as a way to provide recognition for efforts to challenge the audience, build the repertoire, and increase interest in contemporary music. One of these awards is specifically for American Programming on Foreign Tours, and this year that award was given to the San Francisco Symphony (SFS). Specifically, it cites the European tour that took place this past March, whose programming included John Adams “Absolute Jest,” composed on an SFS commission for the ensemble’s centennial celebration, and “The Alcotts,” the third movement of Henry Brant’s A Concord Symphony, a rethinking of Charles Ives’ second (“Concord”) piano sonata in orchestral terms.

SFS has won nineteen ASCAP awards. That includes one for the SFS Youth Orchestra, which was also for American Programming on Foreign Tours. In this case the tour took also place in Europe, this time between June 23 and July 6 in 2012; and John Adams’ “Shaker Loops” was performed at all but one of the six concerts on the tour.


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos