Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

The perfect Halestorm

Halestorm album cover.

The fury of rock and infectious vocals by a female, especially in a male dominated category, is enough to knock you off your feet. Lead singer Lzzy Hale’s straight rock vocals are captivating; it is the type of voice that has not been seen in rock for quite sometime and it is very refreshing.

Halestorm consists of Joe Hottinger (lead guitar), Josh Smith (bass), Arejay Hale (drums), and Arejay’s sister, Elizabeth "Lzzy"  Hale (vocals). Together this York, Pennsylvania band gained a tremendous following perfecting their songs, eventually signing with Atlantic Records.

They have shared the stage with some talented rock bands including: Chevelle, Shinedown, Seether, Flyleaf, Trapt, and Evans Blue.

Halestorm could be considered similar to other rock groups with a female lead, such as Evanescense or Flyleaf, but Lzzy’s vocals are pure rock n’roll. The band’s catchy songs with infectious hooks and riffs combined with Lzzy’s amplified vocals draws its listeners in.

The lead single off their self-titled debut, "I Get Off," will be stuck in any hard rock fan’s head for days, and the range of Lzzy’s vocals is phenomenal. The song has been getting quite a lot of airplay on 107.1 The Bone as well as other local rock stations.

Halestorm is definitely bringing back hard rock with style. With the lead of Lzzy Hale, the group should find no trouble in gaining success, which will only further solidify them as a top rock band in the near future.

Make sure to catch Halestorm on December 30, 2009 at the Crocodile Rock Café.

Enjoy the article? By clicking the "Subscribe" button up top, emails will be sent anytime a new article is posted.

For more info: Check out Halestorm's Website and Myspace. Also, for ticket information check out   the Crocodile Rock Cafe.




Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos