Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Movies

'The Normal Heart' wins 2014 Primetime Emmy for Outstanding TV-Movie

See also

The AIDS-activist drama "The Normal Heart" was named Outstanding Television Movie at the 66th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, held at the Nokia Theatre L.A. Live in Los Angeles on Aug. 25, 2014. Larry Kramer wrote "The Normal Heart" screenplay, which was adapted from Kramer's Tony-winning play of the same name.

HBO premiered "The Normal Heart" in May 2014. The movie's cast includes Mark Ruffalo, Julia Roberts, Taylor Kitsch, Matt Bomer, Jim Parsons, Joe Mantello (who was part of "The Normal Heart" Broadway cast), B.D. Wong and Jonathan Groff.

"The Normal Heart" movie director/executive producer Ryan Murphy said in his acceptance speech: "Thank you to the Academy, thank you to HBO — particularly Michael Lombardo, Richard Plepler, Dana Walden and Gary Newman — for believing in this movie. We're only here because of one person and that's Mr. Larry Kramer. We did this for him.

"Special thanks to our wonderful cast, particularly a shout-out to Julia Roberts and Mark Ruffalo, who got this movie made. After 30 years, it took the super powers of Erin Brokovich and the Incredible Hulk to finally get this thing alive.

"We're going to use the rest of our time to ask young people watching to become Larry Kramers, to find a cause you believe in that you will fight for, that you will die for. Go online, look up AMFAR, look up the Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation. This is for all the hundreds of thousands of artists who have passed from HIV/AIDS since 1981. Your memory and your passion burns on in us. And this is for them."

In addition to Murphy, the other recipients of "The Normal Heart's" Emmy for Outstanding Television Movie are Dante Di Loreto (executive producer), Jason Blum (executive producer), Brad Pitt (executive producer), Dede Gardner (executive producer), Ruffalo (co-executive producer), Alexis Martin Woodall (producer) and Scott Ferguson (producer).

"The Normal Heart" also won a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Makeup for a Miniseries or a Movie (Non-Prosthetic). The recipients of that award are Eryn Krueger Mekash (department head makeup artist), Sherri Berman Laurence (key makeup artist), Nicky Pattison (makeup artist), LuAnn Claps (makeup artist), Mike Mekash (makeup artist) and Carla White (personal makeup artist).

"The Normal Heart" had a total of 12 Primetime Emmy nominations.