Skip to main content

See also:

The Major Arena Soccer League to debut this fall for the 2014-2015 season

MASL's logo
MASL's logo
Courtesy of the MASL

The Major Arena Soccer League will debut this fall for its 2014-2015 season. The indoor soccer league was created when the Baltimore Blast, Milwaukee Wave, Missouri Comets, Rochester Lancers, St. Louis Ambush and the Syracuse Silver Knights left the Major Indoor Soccer League to join the PASL (Professional Arena Soccer League). The owner franchises were disappointed with the way the MISL was being run and the USL (United Soccer Leagues) was going to shut down the organization to reassess it's status for the 2014-2015 season. The PASL decided to change their name to the MASL to reflect the new additional teams to the league.

MASL will be divided into four division (Pacific, Southern, Central and Eastern). The teams will face their divisional opponents for at least one home and away game. They will also adhere to a twenty game season and the indoor soccer arenas must have a capacity of at least 2,000 seats. The MASL will have twenty-three teams this season and will feature two new franchises (Seattle Impact and the Brownsville Barracudas) along with the six former MISL teams.

The 2014-2015 season opener will be held on October 25th when the Missouri Comets face the Dallas Sidekicks. The full Major Arena Soccer League schedule will be released sometime in September. The teams will travel regionally within their divisions during league play. The US Open Arena Soccer Championships will not be held during the 2014-2015 season due to the 2015 World Cup of Arena Soccer.

The league's feeder system will still retain the name of PASL-Premier and is starting their 2014 Summer Premier Championship this weekend in Las Vegas, Nevada. The tournament will be held for three days beginning on August 1st at the Las Vegas Sports Park. For more information about the MASL please visit and it's minor league system