Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

The Luna Ensemble is coming to the Community Music Center

See also

The Luna Ensemble is presumably named after its keyboardist Christopher Luna. It is a seven-member electro-acoustic ensemble dedicated to the creation and performance of contemporary music that translates everyday environmental sounds into music through experimental notation, extended instrumental techniques, improvisational strategy, and electronically manipulated field recordings. The other six members (listed in alphabetical order) are Rachel Condry (clarinets), Nava Dunkelman (percussion), Aaron Oppenheim (electronics), Crystal Pascucci (cello), Jacob Peck (electric guitar), Jeanie-Aprille Tang (electronics), and Jennifer Wilsey (percussion).

This weekend they will bring a program entitled Decoding Phonography to the Capp Street Concert Hall of the Community Music Center. The idea behind this performance is that any sound encountered in the environment is a musical idea in itself. This is very much in the spirit of musique concrète; but that spirit is made flesh, so to speak, by the full scope of experimental techniques that have occupied the Luna Ensemble, probably extended with a nod or two directed towards the “spectral” theories pioneered by Tristan Murail and Gérard Grisey. Several composers were commissioned to provide works for this concert; but, as of this writing, their names have not yet been released.

This concert will take place in the Capp Street Concert Hall of the Community Music Center, located in the Mission at 544 Capp Street. Following immediately on the conclusion of the 13th Annual Outsound New Music Summit, it will begin at 8 p.m. this Sunday, August 3. General admission will be $15, payable at the door, with a $10 charge for students and seniors.