Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

The Last of Us wins Game of the Year at GDCA

The biggest winners of the game industry were announced Wednesday night at the Moscone Convention Center in San Francisco. The 14th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards recognizes some of the best developers and games in the industry.

The Last of Us
The Last of Us website

The most anticipated winner of the night was for Game of the Year. There were five finalists. They included Crystal Dynamics/Square Enix for Tomb Raider, Rockstar North/Rockstar Games for Grand Theft Auto V, Nintendo EAD Tokyo/Nintendo for Super Mario 3D World, and The Fullbright Company for Gone Home. The recipient of the Game of the Year award, however, went to Naughty Dog/Sony for The Last of Us.

The Last of Us also picked up awards for narrative and best design. It is a post-apocalyptic adventure made exclusively for PlayStation 3. In it, the stage is set 20 years after a pandemic hit the world, infecting people and causing survivors to fight each other to ultimately survive. In the game, players control a character named Joel. He travels across the United States in the year 2033, escorting a woman named Ellie to a resistance group. Meanwhile, there are zombie-type creatures along the way that are mutated by the fungus ravishing the world.

Naughty Dog developed the game, while Sony Computer Entertainment published it. The Last of Us was 2013’s second-largest video game launch behind Grand Theft Auto V. It sold more than 1.3 million copies in the first week, alone. As of this month, The Last of Us has sold more than six million copies around the world.

The Game Developers Choice Awards, along with the Game of the Year, is part of the yearly Game Developers Conference. The GDC recognizes the elite of the game industry, as well as includes panels, lectures and roundtable discussions between industry professionals. The five day conference began on Monday, and wraps up this Friday.

Report this ad