Skip to main content
  1. Tech
  2. Games
  3. Consoles

‘The Last of Us’ nominated for writing achievement by the WGA

See also

The nominees for outstanding writing in video games for the 2014 Writers Guild of America awards include four different titles which released during the past year including The Last of Us and Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag. The Writers Guild of America revealed their nominations for the video game category on Jan 9 in which a winner is scheduled to be announced at the start of February during the 2014 Writers Guild Award ceremony.

Earning numerous game of the year awards, it isn’t surprising to see Naughty Dog’s post-apocalyptic epic, which was written by Neil Druckmann, to be among the nominees. Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, which featured a team of writers, is also an familiar franchise for the award as scriptwriter Jill Murray took home the 2013 WGA award in 2013 for Assassin’s Creed: Liberation.

Rounding out the nominations were Batman: Arkham Origins and Lost Planet 3. It’s important to note that, in order to consider for the Writer’s Guild of America award, the game’s writer must be a member of the WGA and the title has to be submitted to the organization. As such, there is a limited pool of titles that actually qualify to receive the award.

Follow Game On, powered by, on Facebook and Twitter for more gaming news, reviews, and exclusive content.


Don't Miss

  • Division
    Ubisoft Massive exclusive: 'The Division', PS4 & Xbox One, Activision to Ubisoft & more
    Games Exclusive
  • Wi-Fi
    Free Wi-Fi scams are becoming more common as people try to stay connected
    Tech Buzz
  • MGS
    'Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes' earned 4 stars and we're giving it away for free
    Games Giveaway
  • Facebook
    Facebook rolls out a 'Nearby Friends' mobile feature so you can see who's around
    Tech News
  • Upcoming
    These are 2014's biggest PS4, Xbox One and Wii U games
    Games Feature
  • Facebook
    Find a security flaw in the Facebook software and you could earn yourself $500

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!