Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

'The Giver' chosen as Heartland Film's Truly Moving Picture Award winner

'The Giver' has been awarded the Truly Moving Picture Award by the Heartland Film nonprofit.
'The Giver' has been awarded the Truly Moving Picture Award by the Heartland Film nonprofit.
The Weinstein Company

A week before hitting theaters nationwide, the upcoming film adaptation of “The Giver” has been honored by the Indianapolis-based Heartland Film organization.

The nonprofit awarded “The Giver” its Truly Moving Picture Award, which recognizes “entertaining films that do much more than just entertain.” It’s no surprise, given how much “The Giver” emphasizes the importance of love and memory.

“The Truly Moving Picture Award jury felt ‘The Giver’ was a strong film filled with interesting messages,” Heartland Film Artistic Director Tim Irwin said in a press release. “A provoking conversation starter, the film was a powerful adaptation of Lois Lowry’s classic novel.”

The awards jury also recognized the “excellent performances” of Jeff Bridges as The Giver and Brenton Thwaites as Jonas.

“The Giver” is just the latest book to movie adaptation from co-producing partner Walden Media to be honored by the Truly Moving Picture Award. Past recipients have included Walden Media productions such as “Holes,” “Charlotte’s Web,” “Bridge to Terabithea,” “Because of Winn Dixie,” “Ramona,” and “The Chronicles of Narnia.”

“We’re excited to introduce ‘The Giver’ to moviegoers next week,” Walden Media COO Frank Smith said, “and are proud to add the film to the list of other great book to film adaptations we have produced which have also won the Truly Moving Picture Award.”

Founded in 1991, Heartland Film is a nonprofit that seeks to “inspire filmmakers and audiences through the transformative power of film.” Movies recognized by Heartland Film are intended to do “more than just entertain” audiences. Heartland Film hosts a film festival every year, and awards funds to support independent filmmakers. The Truly Moving Picture Award is designed to recognize theatrically-released films that support the organization’s mission, and is awarded throughout the year. Other winners this year have included "The Fault in Our Stars," "Boyhood," and "The Monuments Men."

“The Giver” is based on the critically acclaimed book published in 1993, which follows Jonas (Thwaites) as he learns that his seemingly utopian world of “sameness” is lacking the depth of color, emotion, and choice when he begins learning about society’s hidden memories from a man known as The Giver (Bridges). The film also stars Katie Holmes, Alexander Skarsgard, Meryl Streep, Taylor Swift, and Odeya Rush. It opens nationwide on Aug. 15.

This is a "sponsored post," meaning the company who sponsored the article compensated me for writing the article. The opinions I have expressed, however, are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Report this ad