Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

The Financial Times seeks 2014's best business books

The Financial Times is seeking 2014's best business books.
The Financial Times is seeking 2014's best business books.

The Financial Times (FT) recently announced the launch of the 2014 Business Book of the Year Award, the tenth year of the acclaimed prize, in a new partnership with McKinsey & Company. For the first time, an additional award, the Bracken Bower Prize, will be given to a promising young writer with the best proposal for a book about an emerging business theme.

The Business Book of the Year Award – recognized as the leading business book award – highlights ground-breaking books which explore important business and economic issues. The Award is given to the book that the judges agree provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, including management, finance and economics.

The judging panel for the Business Book of the Year Award includes:

  • Lionel Barber, Editor, Financial Times
  • Steve Coll, Dean,School of Journalism, Columbia University
  • Steven Denning, Chairman, General Atlantic LLC
  • Mohamed El-Erian, Member, Allianz International Executive Board, and Chief Economic Advisor to its Management Board, Chairman of President Obama’s Global Development Council
  • Herminia Ibarra, Cora Chaired Professor of Leadership and Learning and Professor of Organizational Behavior, INSEAD
  • Rik Kirkland, Partner and Director of Publishing, McKinsey & Company
  • Shriti Vadera, Director, Shriti Vadera Ltd, Non-Executive Director, BHP Billiton and AstraZeneca

Named after Brendan Bracken, chairman of the FT from 1945 to 1958, and Marvin Bower, managing director of McKinsey from 1950 to 1967, the Bracken Bower Prize honors their legacy but also opens a new chapter by encouraging young writers and researchers to identify and analyse the business trends of the future.

The judging panel for the Bracken Bower Prize includes:

  • Vindi Banga, partner, Clayton Dubilier & Rice
  • Lynda Gratton, professor, London Business School
  • Jorma Ollila, chairman, Royal Dutch Shell and Outokumpu
  • Dame Gail Rebuck, chair, Penguin Random House,UK

A shortlist for the Business Book of the Year Award will be announced in New York on September 24, and the winners of both prizes will be announced at an award dinner in London on November 11.

Previous winners of the book award include:

  • The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon by Brad Stone (2013)
  • Private Empire: ExxonMobil and American Power by Steve Coll (2012)
  • Poor Economics by Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo (2011)
  • Fault Lines by Raghuram Rajan (2010)
  • Lords of Finance by Liaquat Ahamed (2009)
  • When Markets Collideby Mohamed El-Erian (2008)
  • The Last Tycoons by William Cohan (2007)
  • China Shakes The World by James Kynge (2006)
  • The World is Flat by Thomas Friedman (2005).

For more information including eligibility and rules on the Business Book of the Year Award and Bracken Bower Prize, please visit or and join the conversation at #BBYA14.

The Financial Times, one of the world’s leading business news organizations.

McKinsey & Company is a global management consulting firm.

Report this ad