Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

The Elevate Ensemble announces its debut concert

Chad Goodman, founder of Elevate Ensemble
from the Elevate Ensemble Web site

Founded by Chad Goodman, who also serves as Music Director, the Elevate Ensemble is a new mixed chamber ensemble whose name reflects its goal: “to seek new heights in classical music performance by bringing together an evolving ensemble of musicians to meet the interests of an evolving San Francisco” (as quoted from the Mission Web page of the group’s Web site). The path to this goal is twofold. On the one hand the plan is to prepare programs that feature the works of emerging composers in the context of appropriate pieces from the previous centuries. At the same time the plan is to establish collaborations with other artistic media to expand the possibilities for audience engagement.

In Elevate Ensemble’s first concert, the first aspect of that plan will be realized through the world premiere of a new composition by Danny Clay (yet to be titled). This will be the program’s opening selection. Similarly, the intermission will be followed by “Fragments of Lost Worlds” by Bay Area composer Brien Henderson. This piece reflects both paths to the ensemble’s goal, since Henderson’s composition was inspired by Antoni Gaudí’s trencadis style of making mosaics with waste ceramic pieces. Henderson will be present at the concert to introduce his work.

The other media-related presentation will involve an abstract video animation by Tristan George, which will be projected as accompaniment for Darius Milhaud’s Opus 71, the third of his chamber symphonies, also known as his “little” symphonies, composed in 1921. The early twentieth century will also be represented by the six-movement dance suite Les Rondes, composed by Bohuslav Martinů in 1930 and scored for a septet of oboe, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, two violins, and piano. The program will conclude with an earlier chamber setting in a similar spirit, Antonín Dvořák’s Opus 44 serenade in D minor, scored for two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, and three horns, with possible bass reinforcement by cello and/or double bass and an ad lib double bassoon part.

This concert will take place on Saturday, May 10, beginning at 8:30 p.m. The venue will be Yoga Flow SF at 385 Ashton Avenue in Westwood Park, about one block from the KT Muni light rail station at the corner of Ocean Avenue and Jules Avenue. Tickets are $15 and may be ordered online through an Eventbrite page embedded on the Events page of the Elevate Ensemble Web site.

Report this ad